Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by sherrigirl76
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I loved this. It was actually simpler than I had thought and turned out better than I hoped. I followed suggestions and only lightly sprayed the foil with cooking spray and only brushed the egg on at the very end once everything was laid out. I put the cornucopia in the freezer for a few minutes in between each can of dough so it could cool back down (to keep it from getting too sticky). I allowed it to cool before I removed the foil. I loved this and it was such a hit at our Thanksgiving dinner today. I did not use the toothpicks b/c I did want it to leave holes in the bread-I did not need them. Thanks for a great idea and recipe. Everyone loved it, I felt like the Martha Stewart of our dinner today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ang-in-GA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have this recipe from a magazine that has to be 13 or 14 years old, before my son was born. I have made it every year since and it has become an annual tradition that my kids talk about all year. I laughed at the reviews where they ate the cornucopia over the weekend or sometime later, my kids beg for me to take the picture so they can break into the bread! They eat all the yummy fruits and veggies I put in it too-I'll post this years pic after I make it tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang-in-GA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have made this annually for Thanksgiving for at least 10 years - had an old photocopy from a magazine of the recipe, etc. That recipe adds sesame seeds to the outside after brushing it with glaze. Making it is a tradition in our family and my daughter took over assembly when she was 13. Everyone always comments how nice it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawnie
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I used pizza dough as I did not have anything else. It looked good going into the oven so I'm hoping it cooks up ok. we'll post a picture when it's done. I rated this on the ease of craft. Wow looks fantastic. I will definately make this again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Misty
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was so much fun! My first attempt had bumps and the dough slid off the mold when it got warm. I stuck toothpicks in my second one to keep the warm dough from sliding off the mold and instead of attaching new pieces as I went around (this is how I got bumps) I attached each piece to its self on the underside of the mold where the bumps can not be seen. I will submit a picture of precooked with toothpicks and the final product so you can see what I'm talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was an adventure but, yes, I just took my time and followed the directions. I did make a few mistakes but only I know about them. I'm calling it successful. Mine wouldn't have needed to be 18" long so I'll try for something smaller next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
First magazine had a real similar recipe but braided. I used frozen bread dough ( 2 loaves) & this turned out great. I baked it 30 min. Much less expensive than the bread stick dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TWiz
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This makes a spectacular centerpiece for your holiday guests. I stuffed mine with fresh fruit, hard cheeses, dried sausages and placed crackers near it as an appetizer before Thanksgiving dinner. If your bread sticks move away from the foil form during baking use bunches of parsley and other herbs to cover when you create your display.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Nyack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This ia a great decorative piece that would compliment any Thanksgiving table or gathering. I had to use Pillsbury pizza dough because the store was out of bread sticks. I cut the dough into 1 inch strips and it worked great. Don't use egg mix to secure ends of dough. Just press them together and brush egg mix on before baking. I froze mine and reused it a week later for another party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was so fun and easy to make. We loved having it on our table for Thanksgiving, and enjoying it for the following weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States