Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Super easy and super cute! The family loved it and couldn't believe that it was homemade- they thought I bought it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. Didn't get a chance to photo it, but it was so much fun to make. I made the foil shape a week or so ahead of time as not to run out of foil the day of and my youngest thought it was a dead fish with it's head cut off before I started the actual process of wrapping it with bread stick dough. Which was soo funny. Will make this again for future centerpieces. It was a great way to draw attention to the table. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used 2 tubes of breadsticks, a tin pie plate wrapped in foil to form the shape that I wanted. Mine did not take as long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke'smom
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very easy to make! I use one can of crescent rolls and one can of bread sticks. I shape my cornucopia with foil and lightly spray the foil with cooking spray. I then wrap the crescent rolls around the foil pinching the pieces together to connect them. I use the bread sticks to make the braid. I also picked up a tip from another review and used toothpicks to hold it together while baking. I have made this using only bread sticks and it was not as successful, the crescent rolls work so much better and look better as a finished product I highly recommend doing it this way. Allow it to cool completely before trying to remove the foil, if you have trouble getting the foil out try pulling it in a twisting motion. Also I only use the egg wash for the top of the cornucopia I never use it to hold the dough together as it makes everything very messy, slippery, and wet resulting in a very difficult time putting it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke'smom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This turned out great!! And was the talk of Thanksgiving...everyone was very impressed! I did try something a little different and used an aluminum pan that I folded into a cone shape...I don't recommend this. It held it's shape great but was near impossible to get out! I added a little grape decoration on the top of my cornucopia with the left over breadsticks I had, added a little flare and looked even better. I followed the recipe, except I didn't brush the egg/butter mix over...as recommended by others. I used this as my veggie tray and stuffed it full of different veggies to eat with dip on the side. Not hard at all....and I dild it by myself! Will definitely be making for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I wanted to make this as my husband does all the cooking and gets all the glory on Thanksgiving. It turned out PERFECT! Figuring out the foil was a little tricky but I got it! Also, they didn't have refrigerated bread sticks, so I used the roll out dough that you can cut. It worked great. I just cut them into stripes. I stuffed mine with crackers and served with pepperoni, mozzarella, and a variety of italian meat. Toward the end of the platter someone asked if they could eat the bread, and they said it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe & Ammie Bradley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guilford, Connecticut, USA
Photo by mmmcakes
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was a hit on Thanksgiving! super easy to make! the only thing that I had to do differant was use a tube of pizza dough since my grocery store didn't have the sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this for a Thanksgiving dinner I was invited to. I am not a great cook but love to try new things, especially when it is for a party. This was a total hit!!! I had so many compliments. I did take the advice of others and used the egg/water mix at the end to massage together pieces that were not sticking together well. I also recommend keeping the breadstick rolls in the fridge and pulling out one at a rime. The colder the dough, the easier it was to form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
What a great idea. I made my own bread dough using a recipe I found on the web. My only tip is to watch it in the oven so that if it starts to come apart you can rescue it before it is too late. The finished product was a very creative addition to our Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks for the idea and recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by muneca4v
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving! Very easy to make, just follow the instructions. Will do this every year now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States