Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JY37
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was amazing! Followed directions to a T! Turned put perfect! Only problem, no one wanted to eat the veggies because it was so pretty! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Very clever idea! However, my grocery store didn’t have refrigerated bread sticks dough, but did have refrigerated French bread dough. After reading the label where it says to “place dough seam-side down”, I took a chance and bought 3 11-oz tubes. The dough does unroll, leaving one large rectangle. I placed one on a silicone baking mat, placed the form on top with the opening of the cornucopia at one corner of the bread dough, cut around the form on both sides, but leave some to wrap up and around the tail. The 2nd roll went on top of the form with the short edge of the dough rectangle at the open end of the cornucopia. Leaving 5/8” or so to tuck under the bottom layer, trim away dough along both sides, leaving some near the tail to continue covering that part. Use cut-off pieces to patch any holes, then roll out the remaining scraps and cut 5/8” strips for the braid. So only 2 11-oz packages of French bread dough is needed. This seems an easier, and less time-consuming project than winding strips around the form. As other reviewers’ suggested, I also covered the form with non-stick foil (non-stick side out) to avoid the oil spray which seems to allow the dough to slip off; and, my husband was nearby to provide extra hands; but I was able to do it alone since no wrapping was involved.I braided the strips on the edge of the form. It didn’t brown as uniformly as I expected; the sides were paler than the top, but it still was very, very impressive at our Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slowcooker
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Easy as pie to make...now my family thinks I'm a genius !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Fun project but beware when shaping the curved end. When mine baked it formed a perfect replica of the male genitalia. We had a good laugh over it since we were all adults but would not be appropriate for children. Guests were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maya D
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is a great recipe, I've made it three times and have never had any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made 2 of these for Thanksgiving this year-- first time trying the recipe. Followed instructions exactly. The hardest part about this was making the form, and then trying to get the form out of the finished product without tearing it, especially the tip of the tail. Once it was finished, however, it looked very professional! Each one will look a little different. Very inexpensive and really doesnt take that long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
First the cons: 1) It was hard to keep the sticks on the foil. they kept sliding or dripping off the cone. 2) I had trouble keeping all the ends pinched together and some curled away from the cone when it baked. 3) I'd cover the top with foil from the begining to keep it from browning too fast. 3) the foil was a pain in the arse to get out of the cone after it was finished baking. I lost 3 nails and had a few foil cuts by the time i finished. DESPITE all that, my family was flabbergasted at the result. No one really noticed the curled ends and were ultimately really impressed with what a nice appetizer plate it made. I'll probably do it again next year, though I'll try to tuck in the ends rather than just pinch them (that egg wash does nothing to keep things sticking together) and I may keep the dough really cold to keep it all from dripping & dropping off the cone. Worth the effort. I would have given it 5 stars had it been easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was awesome. I think that next year I will let my toddlers help. It seems fool proof. It is also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Langston
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was so cool and the talk of my first Thanksgiving as a hostess! I loved it and will do it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Langston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
It turned out beautifully!! I can't wait to make it again at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States