Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I've made this twice (Thanksgiving & Christmas), and I got raves both times! I filled it with every veggie I could think of (raw asparagus and green onions looked especially nice), and I served dip on the side. All the veggies were eaten; then my mother-in-law asked if she could keep it to break up & serve with chili after Christmas! I'm a floral designer, so this year I'd like to make one and varnish it to keep for a silk flower arrangement! Just follow the directions, take your time, and don't be nervous...you'll surprise yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This looked very impressive as a centerpiece. I cut out a section of plastic wrap and put the cornucopia on the plastic on the table. I used a half of a red cabbage for my dip container. The dough is VERY SLIPPERY, I recommend two people do this and you have to work very quickly. One more helpful hint. I did not spray the foil with the cooking spray, instead I used that Reynolds Release foil with the non-stick side on the outside that the dough would touch, worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is so fun and turns out wonderful. I did make my own bread recipe in my bread machine after seeing the price of breadstick dough. I used a basic french bread recipe and omited the oil and reduced the yeast to 1/2 teaspoon and let it rise only for about 15 min..then I shaped it into a rectangle and sliced off 1/2 inch thick slices and rolled into long 20"X1/2" or so ropes and then flattened into strips with a rolling pin...I had plenty for the project and enough to put a double braid around the opening. I just pressed the joining ends together and they stayed joined...be sure and overlap about half of the previous strip when laying around the body of the cone so you don't get gaps and brown it really well for a pretty look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
my friends and i did a trial run of this recipe for thanksgiving, it was a fun recipe to do with a crowd!!! our centerpieces turned out SUPER and we will be putting bread and rolls in it for dinner. We also think that this recipe makes a wonderful hostess gift!! Maybe even a house warming gift filled with mouthwatering rolls, breads, muffins !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NICOLLE WRIGHT
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Don't use the glaze to attach the bread sticks together and only for final glaze. I also sprinkle with sesame seeds after glaze. Lower the oven temp to 325 and increase the bake time to up to 1 1/2 hours depend on how light to golden brown you want the bread form to look. Family raves about this and askes me to make it every year.Also make the day before and keep form in and wrap real well when cool with plastic wrap saves time for holiday cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Round Lake Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This is a wonderful center. Not hard to make and I filled it with Frosted Pecans bites. I also made leaf's with cookie cutter and extra dough then attached before baking. looked even more festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
How cool! This took 3 of us to make - 1 to hold, 1 to lay the breadsticks, and 1 to supervise! I think the key is to spray the foil *lightly* with cooking spray - I sprayed it thick, and the breadsticks tended to slide off. We ended up not using the egg at the end of each breadstick, as that made it slippery as well; however, we did use it to glaze. It turned out so cute, and we had a blast making it. Note that you can make it up to a week and a half early - after that, it starts to mildew. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Very happy with this. I made it with my 3 and 7 year old daughters and it came out just fine. We used a disposable pizza pan like they showed in the movie on allrecipes instead of the foil. Used pizza crust and cut it in strips. Did not braid it just laid them next to eachother and connected ends. Can't wait to put it out. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Easy if you follow directions. Can't forget to spray foil and must use the breadsticks. Biscuts do not work. Will make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This turned out great! My 17-y-o daughter made it by herself without any problems. We placed it on a platter with cut up veggies all around, and a bowl of spinach dip served in a hollowed out red cabbage beside it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States