Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Kris W.
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great, easy, inexpensive, impressive addition to Thanksgiving table. Costs about $2/roll of breadsticks and only needed 3 including extras to make a bowl for dip. I didn't have large roll of foil, so just had to guess at measurements. Followed some suggestions not spraying foil and not using wash at ends of breadsticks - couldn't get foil out and a couple ends came apart, but no big deal. Used bed of kale underneath and stuck one leaf inside to hide foil. Guests liked it. Didn't bake entire time. Took about 15 minutes to put together and baked for about 30 minutes. Next time I will try to make it shorter and fatter. Will definitely make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smscones
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is the 1st time I ever made it and as I placed it on the table my family tore it up it was gone in 60 seconds susan scones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
So pretty! This really made the Thanksgiving centerpiece unique (and delicious) this year. We made a big platter with purple kale below it and surrounded it with mini pumpkins and gourds, and served bread rolls out of the cornucopia itself, then people were allowed to tear in to the horn when the rolls were gone. This was fun, easy, and a very inexpensive way to get a ton of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this for thanksgiving and it was a hit. It turned out beautiful, filled it with fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Okay I made this but I did not think it was as easy as everyone said it was. I had a hard time getting the dough to stick together and ended up with some of the strips slipping down while cooking so I had a hole or two. That being said, it still looked great and everyone was so impressed that I actually made it. It really made a wonderful centerpiece on my Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this using my bread machine, and the recipe from this site "bread machine challah 11" I added a little extra flour once the dough came out of the machine. I didn't have enough foil to fill the entire cone...so, believe it or not, I filled my foil cone with socks, and topped with a foil covering. It turned out BEAUTIFUL!! I'm filling mine with rolls for our Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
What a great idea! I wish I had thought of this! Lots of fun to do with the kids; sounds complicated but isn't. Ours just came out of the oven and is magnificent. This will be a new tradition in our house and I will take one to our family events this year as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahSte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I just finished with the conucopia for thanksgiving, it turned out fantastic. I actually had quite a few bread stick left over, so i cut them in half both width wise and length wise, and streched them and twirled them and made cheese straws to go with the cornucopia brushed them with butter salt pepper,garlic and parmesian cheese, and they turned out wonderful. I can hardly wait for the oohs and ahs from everyone. Thanks so much for posting. It was a very fun recipe to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have no patience and this did not take any. It was surprisingly easy, yet turns out looking like you took all day to make. Turned out real nice and golden brown. I plan on putting veggies in it with dip on the side. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This came out great!! I wasn't able to find breadstick dough but I used Philsbury sheet of dough and then sliced sticks from it! After reading comments I thought I would need more hands so I got my most creative friend but this was soo easy one pair of hands works fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States