Cornucopia Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bodyoflight
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This has been my favorite chili since I was a little girl! My mother used to work at the Cornucopia and I remember being there and "helping". Today I was delighted to be able to make this memorable recipe thanks to you posting this here. My mother thanks you for it too since she did not have it committed completely to memory. It is FANTASTIC!!! As magical as I remember it!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This really makes a ton if you don't scale it down! I used less TVP than called for and it was still too much. Did fool everyone but was still a lot. Mine had to simmer for about 2 hours before it wasn't too watery but had a good thick chili feel to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Very tasty. I didn't soak the beans, it saved me some time - however, those who have sensitive stomachs should soak them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is decent chili, but not my favorite. If you love a heavy tomato & bean base, then this is for you. The dried beans came out way too mushy. Canned beans taste much better. Also only used 1 10oz bottle of chili sauce & it still had a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I think I might just be used to saltier meaty chili. I tried using tofu instead of TVP which I don't think helped any. The white tofu chunks don't make it look good at all. If I were to make it again, I'd add more chilli sauce and use ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I was looking for a good chili to experiment with TVP for the first time. The chili turned out great. Halved the recipe to 8 servings. We used 2/3 of the recommended amount of TVP and it was plenty thick. MSG is quite common in TVP, so make sure you choose a brand that does not have MSG! Instead, add some extra salt and hotsauce, and a good couple tbsps of barbecue sauce to the chili. It makes things super tasty and free of questionable chemicals! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
nice, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This was the best chili we've ever had...with some changes *g*. We're meat eaters, so used 2lbs of ground beef. Mmm, mmm, angus beef makes some great chili. Left beans and seasonings the same, except for using a couple garlic cloves instead of powder. The tomato part just seemd like too much (plus didn't have a pot big enough). So, used 1 jar of chile sauce, the can of puree, and only one can of diced (fire roasted, mmm). Came out thick and hearty. If you wanted it thinner, by all means add the recommended chile and diced tomatos. Also added some heat with red pepper flakes. Man, this is one awesome pot of chili. Would be perfect for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This was truly a wonderful chili. My whole family loved it. I used the amount of TVP called for and it seemed like way too much, though. I would use less next time, or possibly try flavored tofu crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I can't believe this recipe was on this site. I went to this restaurant many year's ago when it was open in South Bend and loved this vegetarian chili! I was looking for my recipe card today and couldn't find it and went online and found it on this site! I haven't made it yet but I look forward to making it this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States