Cornmeal Yeast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
It's OK. Nothing special so to speak. I think next time I'd add some real corn to it. Felt more like cornbread than white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
After 40+ years of cooking, this was the absolute 1st loaf of yeast bread I ever attempted and it turned out GREAT. I mistakenly purchased RapidRise yeast (as opposed to Active) and had to make some minor adjustments to the initial steps so I don't know if the bread would have been even better if I had been able to follow the directions exactly. Except that I can't imagine how it could have been. Oh, yeah -- the recipe produced 2 loaves and the both of them together baked up wonderfully in my convection oven in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Delicious bread! My husband is the bread maker and he did a fantastic job. Easy to make, nice texture and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I had so much fun kneading this dough- it was so soft and pliant. I started to knead after 2 cups of flour (with really sticky dough), and kneaded as I added in 1 and 1/4 cups more. I left out the final 1/4 cup, as the dough was already smooth. I rose it in a glass bowl, in a sinkfull of hot tap water. The bread is soft, with the crunch from the cornmeal making it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Good taste, odd texture with the cornmeal. Feels almost like sand in the bread. Could be due to having problems with rising second time. Loaves are rather heavy and dense. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
just finished the 2nd batch because the 1st is gone! Is an wonderful recipe half corn bread half white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Great recipe! The family loved it! I can't wait to try this recipe with some smoked cheddar and mexican spices baked in. However, it's great as is and could be used for sandwiches and just about anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
My rating is based on making it in a bread machine. It has a nice texture and is good for sandwiches and toasted; it's a little dry plain. Very easy to cut. I reduced the yeast to 3 tsp as I thought 2 pkgs of yeast (4.5 tsp) would be a little much for the machine and 3 tsp worked great. Next time I think i'll up the amount of cornmeal as it isn't very "corny". All in all a good loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
loved it great texture and taste. also toasts well. always looking for new things to experiment with in making bread at home . havent bought commerciallt baked bread in over a year. will be baking this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States