Cornmeal Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This recipe isn't missing some sort of fat it's missing a teaspoon of salt, that's all...Anyways, I absolutely love this recipe and when ever I make them I make double so I can keep some in the freezer for a quick delicious breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
It was a very good recipe with healthy ingredients. I used fat free milk instead of buttermilk and added a bit more sugar. It is not expected out of cornmeal and whole wheat flour to make a tender and fluffy texture but it is healthy and has a special taste to it. My dear husband and I had it with jam, syrup and peanut butter. It was so filling. I will definetly make it again in the future. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
These were just ok. I think it's lacking some kind of fat (or something, even applesauce) to tenderize and moisturize it a little. I used lowfat buttermilk, added one egg yolk and a teaspoon of oil and they were still too dry and hard. I had to spray the top AND the bottom of my iron every time with cooking spray and they still stuck to it (and I have a nice non-stick iron that works great). I like to use blue cornmeal so I used that. I don't think I'd make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by RAWIRI
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I agree with others who mention having to constantly grease the waffle maker (even non-stick), and that they can be a teeny bit dry - these are minor trade-offs for a super-healthy waffle. I really like the taste and texture and have made these a number of times. To keep it healthy and yet moisten it up a little I top it with a nice fruit coulis, bananas and low-fat yoghurt or mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I really wanted to like this recipe. Unfortunately, I can't. On paper, it has everything that I think I want from a waffle: low fat content, novelty, whole grains, etc. Perhaps this healthy combo just can't produce 5 star waffles. This recipe works as described and functions well. I like a lot of things about it. I like everything, in fact, except the waffles. They are ok, but I'll pass in the future. I will be tempted to fiddle with the recipe and try other grains, etc. I think this recipe is a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I halved the recipe; the only change I made was to use 1 whole egg rather than one white. These were nice waffles - no, they are not especially light and fluffy, but that's cause they're whole grain. They were soft but still had a nice chew to them I really appreciated. I will make these again... they're good lunch waffles rather than breakfast waffles, and are nice with fruit on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I just made this for breakfast this morning and judging by the other reviewers' comments about the waffles being too hard and not enough moist in it, I added 2 tbsp of applesauce, just to moisten it. It worked. However, it was so moist that it wrecked my waffle. I also added in about 1/4 tsp of salt, as suggested by another reviewer. Instead of sugar, I used 2 tsp of honey. After cooking my first batch, I thought it had a bitter aftertaste, so I added a whole tbsp of plain white sugar. Here's how I did mine. I halved the recipe, since no one else in my family likes waffles and pancakes except for my sister and me. I stirred the dry ingredients together, as mentioned and I just used a substitute for buttermilk which was the milk and added 1 tbsp of vinegar. I didn't care much of the folding the egg white in the batter thing. I just beat my egg white separately in another bowl and added my honey, then beat it together. Then I whisked the milk and egg mixture to the dry ingredients. Mine came out moist, but it was so moist that it cracked me waffly in half. If anyone else would like to try this recipe, I'd suggest only adding 1 tbsp-1 1/2 tbsp of the applesauce. If you are going to use the full recipe, by all means use 2 tbsp of applesauce I might try this recipe some other time, but for now, I'd just settle into my cereal breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Might have been good had I been able to use it for waffles...alas I had to use it for thin pancakes that were edible, to say the least. The fact that it contained no fat at all allowed my waffle maker to have an extreme problem with this recipe. I'm not sure that I will even have a waffle maker anyone since it is still cooling and the batter is stuck all over it! What a mess! I might make this recipe again but I think I would add some oil to it! Please don't risk this recipe without adding some type of fat to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I actually liked this recipe, but I modified it because as it was written it wouldn't have met my tastes. I used one whole egg (I halved the recipe)because I only had the one, added a tablespoon or two of melted butter (I didn't measure it), as well as used white flour instead of wheat (I was almost out of wheat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I wasn't impressed, the waffles were bland, and I even added a little salt even though the recipe didn't call for salt. I also didn't like the crunch of the cornmeal, I guess I didn't expect that. It's a healthy recipe, but it just wasn't tasty. Not going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States