Cornmeal Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I just made this for breakfast this morning and judging by the other reviewers' comments about the waffles being too hard and not enough moist in it, I added 2 tbsp of applesauce, just to moisten it. It worked. However, it was so moist that it wrecked my waffle. I also added in about 1/4 tsp of salt, as suggested by another reviewer. Instead of sugar, I used 2 tsp of honey. After cooking my first batch, I thought it had a bitter aftertaste, so I added a whole tbsp of plain white sugar. Here's how I did mine. I halved the recipe, since no one else in my family likes waffles and pancakes except for my sister and me. I stirred the dry ingredients together, as mentioned and I just used a substitute for buttermilk which was the milk and added 1 tbsp of vinegar. I didn't care much of the folding the egg white in the batter thing. I just beat my egg white separately in another bowl and added my honey, then beat it together. Then I whisked the milk and egg mixture to the dry ingredients. Mine came out moist, but it was so moist that it cracked me waffly in half. If anyone else would like to try this recipe, I'd suggest only adding 1 tbsp-1 1/2 tbsp of the applesauce. If you are going to use the full recipe, by all means use 2 tbsp of applesauce I might try this recipe some other time, but for now, I'd just settle into my cereal breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This recipe isn't missing some sort of fat it's missing a teaspoon of salt, that's all...Anyways, I absolutely love this recipe and when ever I make them I make double so I can keep some in the freezer for a quick delicious breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I added 2 T melted butter and they were great! Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was just what I was looking for. I think I would use whole milk next time,(I used non fat with vinegar) but loved the crunch and heavier texture. I liked not having oil in it, but I have to use cooking spray with my waffle iron anyway. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I actually liked this recipe, but I modified it because as it was written it wouldn't have met my tastes. I used one whole egg (I halved the recipe)because I only had the one, added a tablespoon or two of melted butter (I didn't measure it), as well as used white flour instead of wheat (I was almost out of wheat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
It was a very good recipe with healthy ingredients. I used fat free milk instead of buttermilk and added a bit more sugar. It is not expected out of cornmeal and whole wheat flour to make a tender and fluffy texture but it is healthy and has a special taste to it. My dear husband and I had it with jam, syrup and peanut butter. It was so filling. I will definetly make it again in the future. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAWIRI
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I agree with others who mention having to constantly grease the waffle maker (even non-stick), and that they can be a teeny bit dry - these are minor trade-offs for a super-healthy waffle. I really like the taste and texture and have made these a number of times. To keep it healthy and yet moisten it up a little I top it with a nice fruit coulis, bananas and low-fat yoghurt or mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Might have been good had I been able to use it for waffles...alas I had to use it for thin pancakes that were edible, to say the least. The fact that it contained no fat at all allowed my waffle maker to have an extreme problem with this recipe. I'm not sure that I will even have a waffle maker anyone since it is still cooling and the batter is stuck all over it! What a mess! I might make this recipe again but I think I would add some oil to it! Please don't risk this recipe without adding some type of fat to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I really wanted to like this recipe. Unfortunately, I can't. On paper, it has everything that I think I want from a waffle: low fat content, novelty, whole grains, etc. Perhaps this healthy combo just can't produce 5 star waffles. This recipe works as described and functions well. I like a lot of things about it. I like everything, in fact, except the waffles. They are ok, but I'll pass in the future. I will be tempted to fiddle with the recipe and try other grains, etc. I think this recipe is a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I agree that some kind of fat could have been added, or applesauce- will probably do that next time I make these. It would have made them just a little more gooey. They were very good with fruit though, my whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States