Cornmeal Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Made these with blue cornmeal. Kids renamed them Smurf Waffles! With a little syrup, nobody minded the slight baking powder. Would also like them a little crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I'd give 4 stars with my modifications. I used 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg, 1 c heavy whipping cream and 3/4 c 1% milk. I buttered the griddle before each waffle. Still not an awesome waffle texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
family loved these with few changes. Didn't have quite enough baking powder but didn't seem to matter. some like waffles with no syrup so added more sugar to the batter, to make it sweeter, added 3 Tbs melted butter to make it richer and used 3 medium whole eggs instead of whites(all I had left). cruncy, chewey and light but only made 5 waffles including the tester that my husband scarfed up right out of the hot iron. don't know what a serving is but in my house, it is at least one whole waffles per person not a square. would have to at least double this recipe if everyone was home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillvanberkom
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Mine turned out a bit darker than the some photos. My hubby thought they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillvanberkom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I just made this for breakfast this morning and judging by the other reviewers' comments about the waffles being too hard and not enough moist in it, I added 2 tbsp of applesauce, just to moisten it. It worked. However, it was so moist that it wrecked my waffle. I also added in about 1/4 tsp of salt, as suggested by another reviewer. Instead of sugar, I used 2 tsp of honey. After cooking my first batch, I thought it had a bitter aftertaste, so I added a whole tbsp of plain white sugar. Here's how I did mine. I halved the recipe, since no one else in my family likes waffles and pancakes except for my sister and me. I stirred the dry ingredients together, as mentioned and I just used a substitute for buttermilk which was the milk and added 1 tbsp of vinegar. I didn't care much of the folding the egg white in the batter thing. I just beat my egg white separately in another bowl and added my honey, then beat it together. Then I whisked the milk and egg mixture to the dry ingredients. Mine came out moist, but it was so moist that it cracked me waffly in half. If anyone else would like to try this recipe, I'd suggest only adding 1 tbsp-1 1/2 tbsp of the applesauce. If you are going to use the full recipe, by all means use 2 tbsp of applesauce I might try this recipe some other time, but for now, I'd just settle into my cereal breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This recipe isn't missing some sort of fat it's missing a teaspoon of salt, that's all...Anyways, I absolutely love this recipe and when ever I make them I make double so I can keep some in the freezer for a quick delicious breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I added 2 T melted butter and they were great! Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was just what I was looking for. I think I would use whole milk next time,(I used non fat with vinegar) but loved the crunch and heavier texture. I liked not having oil in it, but I have to use cooking spray with my waffle iron anyway. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I actually liked this recipe, but I modified it because as it was written it wouldn't have met my tastes. I used one whole egg (I halved the recipe)because I only had the one, added a tablespoon or two of melted butter (I didn't measure it), as well as used white flour instead of wheat (I was almost out of wheat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
It was a very good recipe with healthy ingredients. I used fat free milk instead of buttermilk and added a bit more sugar. It is not expected out of cornmeal and whole wheat flour to make a tender and fluffy texture but it is healthy and has a special taste to it. My dear husband and I had it with jam, syrup and peanut butter. It was so filling. I will definetly make it again in the future. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States