Cornmeal Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I made these according to recipe. My waffle iron is very seasoned so they didn't stick right away. About the third one it was hard to open the waffle maker so I decided to oil the waffle maker. Then they started sticking. The ones that didn't stick where very crunchy/ crispy. I think leaving them in the waffle maker till they are slightly over done helps them to come out easier. They are a bit bland but what would one expect from a healthy recipe. Husband loved them. It's just a pain to whip the egg whites till stiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Mine were very fluffy but I changed it a bit. I halfed the recipe and used one whole egg, regular flour instead of wheat and 1% milk instead of buttermilk. My picky daughter loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meli
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
It's not bad. The batter didn't stick like some of the reviews did but I DID have to turn my waffle iron. I also tweaked the recipe a little. I did three egg whites and one whole egg instead of the four egg whites. I also added 2TBLS of oil to the batter and 1/4tsp of vanilla extract to it. I like how you can your favorite breakfast food and have it still be healthy. It's also diabetic healthy with it being 25 carbs so my dad can have two and not go over his carb limit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I was excited by the fact this was a healthier recipe, but in reading the reviews, I decided I should add a little fat in to help the final product. So, I did use 2 whole eggs instead of 4 egg whites. I also added a couple of tablespoons of coconut oil. Even with the added fat, this recipe was lacking something. It just didn't have much flavor, and even though I don't mind a heavy whole grain waffle, this was really rather heavy. I wouldn't recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latty72
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
A great idea but like a few other people it needed a little butter and the waffle iron also needed a brush of butter between each batch. Flavor was good, albeit a little heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
These had a nice, hearty and rustic flavour. They were more cakey than waffles usually should be. I do like mine a week bit crisp on the outside. But they were still REALLY good! It was more like eating a tasty, waffle-shaped cake topped with fruit and syrup! Not what I was going for, but very much enjoyable! Instead of 4 egg whites I did two whites and a whole egg, and threw in a tsp of salt with the dry ingredients. I froze the leftovers and they defrost nicely in the toaster. I will finish the rest with gusto! I'll probably even make more batches in the future when I want any more waffle-shaped cake. I'll probably also add some cinnamon and nutmeg to make it more like spice cake. But if I want waffles I'll use a different recipe. Thanks anyway! I look forward to more cake-for-breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I wasn't impressed, the waffles were bland, and I even added a little salt even though the recipe didn't call for salt. I also didn't like the crunch of the cornmeal, I guess I didn't expect that. It's a healthy recipe, but it just wasn't tasty. Not going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Delicious! I did not have buttermilk so I soured 2% milk with 2 tablspoons of lemon juice...let it sit for 5 minutes then added according to buttemilk instructions. I think what makes this recipe so tastey is cornmeal and whole wheat flour. It gives the waffles a great taste and texture! The addition of the egg whites made the batter a great fluffy consistancy. Wuld definatley recommend to ones who like natural earth tasting waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Made these with blue cornmeal. Kids renamed them Smurf Waffles! With a little syrup, nobody minded the slight baking powder. Would also like them a little crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I'd give 4 stars with my modifications. I used 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg, 1 c heavy whipping cream and 3/4 c 1% milk. I buttered the griddle before each waffle. Still not an awesome waffle texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States