Cornmeal Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
First, I made this the way the recipe was written. It was nice, but very sweet, and maybe a bit on the drier side. No I make this with cutting the sugar to 3/4 cup if you don't like things overly sweet, or to make it even better, use 1/2 cup of honey instead of the sugar and also 2 heaping tbsp. of unsweetened applesauce for a moister texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This cake is yummy. I made one and a half times the measurements and cooked it in a 9 x13 pan. Just the right amount of sweet with that grit of cornmeal that I love. I wish I had whipping cream around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Outstanding cake! I made this for a family Easter dinner, and I also made an old standby dessert as a backup in case we didn't like the cake--but this cake was the surprise hit with everyone and was completely consumed! I was worried that it was too plain or would be dry, but it was just perfect: moist and delicious, simple and pretty, and the cornmeal texture made it unique. I was asked for the recipe and was happy to share. I did leave out the salt to reduce sodium, and I used unsalted margarine in place of butter. I layered my strawberries in the middle of the cake, as I saw in one of the photos here, instead of stirring into the batter. Thank you! This will become a standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annette Kinney
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I really enjoyed this cake. I used Vanilla Activia, since that is what I had and added a little cinnamon (I adore cinnamon). I also coated my strawberries in a small amount of flour to keep them from dropping to the bottom of the batter. It definitely has a cornmeal/cornbread taste and texture, but I love that. It was sweet, but I did not think it was overly sweet. It might be slightly dry, more like a bread than a cake. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Kinney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millinocket, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Good but missing a little something... but decent cake overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brossard, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This delicious, relatively healthy cake was easy to make and, oh so good! I used turbinado sugar instead of white sugar, frozen strawberries, and added two heaping tablespoons of applesauce since other reviews said the cake was a bit dry. With the applesauce added, it was perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I did not care for it. I tried using blueberries and it was not too good. Maybe strawberries will be better. Ill try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Loved it! A moist cake that isn't sticky sweet. It was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarot Witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Thanks for the tip Jen about this cake being a good gluten free cake recipe.........I will definitely try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States