Cornmeal Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I think most of the other reviewers have summed it up pretty well...with this cake is great! My only additional comment would be that it makes a great tasting gluten-free cake as well. I used a gluten-free flour mix instead of AP flour and the results were excellent. Thank you Jen for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is such a great cake! I've been wanting to try it for some time now and finally got around to it. I am glad I did! Very good texture & perfect flavor. It was the right amount of not too sweet, had a dense sponge cake texture, and the perfect hint of cornmeal. The only thing I changed was to sub sour cream for the yogurt since I was out. The fresh strawberries (or any fresh berries) are a must, so don't leave them out. The Hubster loved this cake! Served with a scoop of vanilla/strawberry ice cream. Yummy! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This was wonderful! Not too sweet, just sweet enough. I used the recipe exactly as it's stated and loved the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This had a delicious taste and texture--it was a lot like a New England style cornbread with vanilla and fruit added. Our only complaint was that it was too sweet. If you don't like supersweet foods, just cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and it will be perfect. Also, you can use any type of berry and the recipe still works even if the berries are frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I went with blue corn meal, blueberry yogurt, blueberries and a combo of sugar and honey...absolutely amazing! Served with blueberry yougurt and whip cream on top - great presentation and great way to end the evening's meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is a really good recipe. The flavor is nice. The texture is nice. The only problem that I had with it was that the strawberries all sank to the bottom of the pan. Also, the recipe should probably be more specific about what kind of corn meal can be used (white or yellow). It might not matter. Anyway, This one is going in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Oh, how delightful! I wanted to use up some yogurt and cornbread, so I input those two ingredients into the recipe finder and this is what came up. It's like a dense, sweet cornbread. I used frozen blueberries because I wanted to save my fresh strawberries for another dish. I also try to avoid using white sugar, so instead I put in 2/3c. of brown sugar. I had a slice with some vanilla ice cream while it was still just slightly warm and it was delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiaLucia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
A really lovely cake! Moist and flavoursome without being overly sweet. I used some extra sliced strawberries and arranged them over the top before baking but it didnt last long enough to have a photo taken :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This was really good! I made it in the spring before strawberries were available, so I tried it with a package of frozen cranberries and it was delicious.... Also, used my "bloody butcher" cornmeal (red). We plan to try it with strawberries, but I'm sure any fresh fruit would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I only had strawberry flavoured yoghurt in my fridge so I used it in place of plain yoghurt. I also did not have fresh strawberries. maybe it's due to the lack of the sliced fresh strawberries that my cake turned out to be dry. but i'll try again, this time with the strawberries. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States