Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The best way to cook this very simple dish, is to do it in a slow cooker. Just add 4 cups of water to 1 cup of corn meal and salt to taste and let it cook to the consistency of a cream. If you want to get fancy, add corn nibblets into the mix, and then top the finished dish with 1 or 2 fried eggs and/or chile con carne or sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
For quicker single-serving preparation, keep the ratio at 3 parts water/1 part cornmeal and microwave. Just make sure you stir every 30 seconds or so until the desired thickness is attained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
When I was a small child I was in the hospital for 2 months - every morning I was served this cornmeal mush with large pieces of date in it. I loved it then and I love it now. Also very good with raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I didn't think I would ever find this recipe, my dad used to make this for us on weekends when we were kids. I loved it then and still do, and out of the 6 kids I have 4 of them like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This comes out too grainy. I used milk instead of water, and halved the cornmeal only. It turns out creamy like Cream of Wheat this way. And of course, add sugar to taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JewRican

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I love this recipe! It's a great breakfast and also great if you want to make it and chill it overnight to cook in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albany, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Corn-corn-corn, soft and mushy and perfectly corny. Yum-yum-yum. (I am thinking of adding a can of corn niblets[?]to this, but, I worry that would betray a complete lunacy for corn.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kind*machine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savoy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I love making cornmeal mush for a simple, healthy breakfast. It's just as good as Malt-O-Meal or Cream of Wheat, but doesn't cost as much, and you can say you made it from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I double this usually. My kids love it served with honey and milk. It's a nice break from our usual oatmeal. Made it today as I've made the last couple of years and there wasn't enough to go around! LoL I think now I need to start tripling it... :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This recipe is as good as it gets. Use your imagination with the cornmeal and add to it what you wish for breakfast. I use sweet condensed milk which adds enough sweetness to it. To prevent lumps, if you add the cornmeal to the boiling water slowly whisking all the time, you won't have to worry about the lumps at all. You don't need to use a lot of oil to fry them, put your heat on medium to high, and you should be fine. If you are going to fry the cornmeal and not eat it as a hot breakfast cereal, try adding some Parmesan cheese to it, [or your favourite cheese] then roll it up in a log in plastic wrap. Then cut what you need to fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States