Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I substituted (almond)milk for the water and added a drizzle of honey and brown sugar before added the cornmeal. Tasted fabulous! Very filling! I will try the frying it with a little flour and butter next time..sounds good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Make sure you follow the directions and start with the water and cornmeal mixed BEFORE heating. If you get lumps it's because you added the grain to hot water instead of cold. This is a basic recipe and it's accurate for a basic mush. It's what you do with it after the mush is made that makes is good! My husband likes to eat his like grits, with salt and butter. I prefer mine sweet. I mix in 1 cup of flavored yogurt and have it as cereal in the morning. It can also be used as a polenta, served along side meat and veggies. You may want to add cheese or other seasonings if you want it savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I hadn't had this for 30 years! I added an extra cup of water, and a little more salt. Cook on low. Stir constantly as it thickens up quickly. This made 2 large servings, nowhere near the 8 the recipe states. It was good though (not great), and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I changed this by adding a can of corn (drained). When finished cooking then mash and serve as a side dish, sounds strange but my husband loves it this way. We use an ice cream scoop to scoop up the mush and serve it as a nice round ball. We have had something very similar at a local restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I found this recipe tastless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
The water amount is off - after reading the other reviews, I did it 1 part cornmeal to 4 parts water, and cooked about 7 minutes. The consistency was like grainy cream of wheat. I agree that you MUST add something to it - syrup, honey, something. It's completely bland. But a cheap and easy filling breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
On key is to mix 1 cup of the water in this recipe with the corn meal and mix together before you add it to the boiling water.(remaining amount water) This eliminates the lumps you get by pouring cornmeal directly into boiling water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicken hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I scaled it down to one serving....Had to add more water though. A low calorie breakfast/snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I love making cornmeal mush for a simple, healthy breakfast. It's just as good as Malt-O-Meal or Cream of Wheat, but doesn't cost as much, and you can say you made it from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Well, I wouldn't recommend this at all. This is what most people know as "porridge" (like from Goldilocks and the 3-bears). Try the Fried Cornmeal Mush from this site....you can still leave it as porridge instead of chilling and frying, but the proportions to water and cornmeal are better. It's how I have always had it growing up, and it's how my kids have it now. I don't think this is good at all. If you make the Fried Cornmeal Mush, grease the dish well for ease of removal (even if it's a non-stick pan). And remember....mush is not sweet. You have to add sugar (if you leave it as porridge) and butter and syrup if you fry it in slices. This recipe I do NOT recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States