Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The best way to cook this very simple dish, is to do it in a slow cooker. Just add 4 cups of water to 1 cup of corn meal and salt to taste and let it cook to the consistency of a cream. If you want to get fancy, add corn nibblets into the mix, and then top the finished dish with 1 or 2 fried eggs and/or chile con carne or sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
For quicker single-serving preparation, keep the ratio at 3 parts water/1 part cornmeal and microwave. Just make sure you stir every 30 seconds or so until the desired thickness is attained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I added more water. For all cornmeal mush, here's a simple ratio to remember: 1-1-2, meaning: 1c cold water, 1c corn meal, 2c boiling water. Add 1c corn meal to 1c cold water, stir. Pour cold mixture into 2c boiling water. The ratio will always stay the same, so increase or decrease amounts proportionally according to ratio. Thickening times will vary. Stir till thickened..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I used to have this as a child and loved it. My mother, a Cuban cook, cooked in a big pot; She put 1TBS vegetable oil, salt and mixed the polenta (Cornmeal) with water before adding it to the pot. I added 1 cup of sweet corn kernels in and sprinkled some parmasean cheese. Delicious. I also used to eat it by pouring milk on top. I didn't like it sweet, though. Loved as a savoury hot breakfast cereal. I used to call it 'Goldilock's Porridge' LOL :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very tasty breakfast. Added some sweetened condensed milk and a bit of cinnamon. Delicious! The hubby has requested it several times for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
My Mom made this all the time. Pour into a loaf pan, chill it overnight. Cut into slices and dredge in flour, then pan-fry. Top with butter or margarine and real maple syrup, or with whatever topping you prefer for pancakes. However, maple is probably the best topping for corn meal mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This recipe is as good as it gets. Use your imagination with the cornmeal and add to it what you wish for breakfast. I use sweet condensed milk which adds enough sweetness to it. To prevent lumps, if you add the cornmeal to the boiling water slowly whisking all the time, you won't have to worry about the lumps at all. You don't need to use a lot of oil to fry them, put your heat on medium to high, and you should be fine. If you are going to fry the cornmeal and not eat it as a hot breakfast cereal, try adding some Parmesan cheese to it, [or your favourite cheese] then roll it up in a log in plastic wrap. Then cut what you need to fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I double this usually. My kids love it served with honey and milk. It's a nice break from our usual oatmeal. Made it today as I've made the last couple of years and there wasn't enough to go around! LoL I think now I need to start tripling it... :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Lumpy, added syrup to taste better. Used milk to make it creamier, still bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I substituted (almond)milk for the water and added a drizzle of honey and brown sugar before added the cornmeal. Tasted fabulous! Very filling! I will try the frying it with a little flour and butter next time..sounds good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States