Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I added more water. For all cornmeal mush, here's a simple ratio to remember: 1-1-2, meaning: 1c cold water, 1c corn meal, 2c boiling water. Add 1c corn meal to 1c cold water, stir. Pour cold mixture into 2c boiling water. The ratio will always stay the same, so increase or decrease amounts proportionally according to ratio. Thickening times will vary. Stir till thickened..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
On key is to mix 1 cup of the water in this recipe with the corn meal and mix together before you add it to the boiling water.(remaining amount water) This eliminates the lumps you get by pouring cornmeal directly into boiling water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicken hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This comes out too grainy. I used milk instead of water, and halved the cornmeal only. It turns out creamy like Cream of Wheat this way. And of course, add sugar to taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JewRican

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I didn't think I would ever find this recipe, my dad used to make this for us on weekends when we were kids. I loved it then and still do, and out of the 6 kids I have 4 of them like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe does not have anywhere near the amount of water needed to properly cook the mush. The cornmeal can't become tender in the time allotted to cook. For the specified amount of cornmeal, it requires about 4.5 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I love this recipe! It's a great breakfast and also great if you want to make it and chill it overnight to cook in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albany, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Well, I wouldn't recommend this at all. This is what most people know as "porridge" (like from Goldilocks and the 3-bears). Try the Fried Cornmeal Mush from this site....you can still leave it as porridge instead of chilling and frying, but the proportions to water and cornmeal are better. It's how I have always had it growing up, and it's how my kids have it now. I don't think this is good at all. If you make the Fried Cornmeal Mush, grease the dish well for ease of removal (even if it's a non-stick pan). And remember....mush is not sweet. You have to add sugar (if you leave it as porridge) and butter and syrup if you fry it in slices. This recipe I do NOT recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
For quicker single-serving preparation, keep the ratio at 3 parts water/1 part cornmeal and microwave. Just make sure you stir every 30 seconds or so until the desired thickness is attained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
It is kind of hard to review something as simple to make as this. I am 69 years old and got my recipe from my grandmother who used to make fried mush all the time. She was a great home-style cook who raised her family during the depression so cheap was her most important word. The best way to cook mush is boil water and add mush and cold water mixture while stirring. This eliminates any lumps. I needed the ratio of water to mush. We prefer to fry the mush in bacon grease as this adds some flavor. I like mine with lots of butter and salt and pepper. Everyone else likes butter and syrup or honey. That's a little to sweet for me first thing in the AM. You can add sausage to the mush before it's fried. It can be a dinner dish with chili on it or tomato sauce with chicken or italian sausage. You don't need to fry it. It is good in a bowl with butter, with or without sugar. It is really versatile and cheap and easy. Use your imagination to make many meals with mush as the basis. Have fun and bon appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ossining, New York, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
I was amazed at how hard it was to find this -- thank you for posting a recipe as obvious as this one. My mom used to fry up cornmeal mush for us, and I wanted to, but didn't think it could be as simple as I was remembering. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States