Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
I was amazed at how hard it was to find this -- thank you for posting a recipe as obvious as this one. My mom used to fry up cornmeal mush for us, and I wanted to, but didn't think it could be as simple as I was remembering. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I didn't think I would ever find this recipe, my dad used to make this for us on weekends when we were kids. I loved it then and still do, and out of the 6 kids I have 4 of them like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Not bad, but extremely bland... I suppose that's how mush is supposed to be! I used it as cereal, with cold milk and no sugar, so maybe that's why I wasn't particularly thrilled with it. Very filling as breakfast though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I made this with my 3 year old daughter as part of a homeschool unit on _Good_Night_Moon_. I was happy to find the recipe and will pass it on to several friends. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This comes out too grainy. I used milk instead of water, and halved the cornmeal only. It turns out creamy like Cream of Wheat this way. And of course, add sugar to taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JewRican

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
very good filling breakfast try with honey and mix in some granola
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I love this recipe! It's a great breakfast and also great if you want to make it and chill it overnight to cook in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albany, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This recipe was ok but only because I added a ton of sugar and cinnamon. Maybe I will try it again because it is very filling and would be good on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
My mother used to make this when I was a little girl. It's great with butter an d sugar. Try cooking it in the microwave instead of the stovetop and it will be less likely to get lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I added some cinnamon to the cornmeal and water before cooking it and then added sugar and milk after I had finished cooking it. Like another reviewer mentioned, it reminded me of cream of wheat. I might have it again and will try adding raisins. That might help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States