Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I used stone ground cornmeal, so that may have accounted for any differences in my experience with this recipe. However, we cooked this for half an hour, added about a cup and a half more water, and I think it still could've benefitted from being cooked a little longer. We used this recipe rather than the others I've found online because it sounded like it would be thick, and my boyfriend said he liked it thick. However, I think next time I would use one of the other recipes, since they called for a greater ratio of water to cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
with smart balance and honey with a splash of vanilla silk, mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I added some cinnamon to the cornmeal and water before cooking it and then added sugar and milk after I had finished cooking it. Like another reviewer mentioned, it reminded me of cream of wheat. I might have it again and will try adding raisins. That might help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
My mother used to make this when I was a little girl. It's great with butter an d sugar. Try cooking it in the microwave instead of the stovetop and it will be less likely to get lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This recipe was ok but only because I added a ton of sugar and cinnamon. Maybe I will try it again because it is very filling and would be good on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I love this recipe! It's a great breakfast and also great if you want to make it and chill it overnight to cook in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albany, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
very good filling breakfast try with honey and mix in some granola
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This comes out too grainy. I used milk instead of water, and halved the cornmeal only. It turns out creamy like Cream of Wheat this way. And of course, add sugar to taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JewRican

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I made this with my 3 year old daughter as part of a homeschool unit on _Good_Night_Moon_. I was happy to find the recipe and will pass it on to several friends. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Not bad, but extremely bland... I suppose that's how mush is supposed to be! I used it as cereal, with cold milk and no sugar, so maybe that's why I wasn't particularly thrilled with it. Very filling as breakfast though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States