Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe does not have anywhere near the amount of water needed to properly cook the mush. The cornmeal can't become tender in the time allotted to cook. For the specified amount of cornmeal, it requires about 4.5 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I found the mush itself too salty with the specified 1/2 tsp of salt. I chilled it overnight in a loaf pan as directed, but had trouble getting it out of the (nonstick) pan and getting the slices to hold their shape. I would recommend salting to taste -- always easier to add than subtract. And if you're going to fry it, perhaps chill it in a shallower pan for firmer pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I did as JewRican suggested: halved the cornmeal and made it with milk. Served with honey and a pat of butter, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I used stone ground cornmeal, so that may have accounted for any differences in my experience with this recipe. However, we cooked this for half an hour, added about a cup and a half more water, and I think it still could've benefitted from being cooked a little longer. We used this recipe rather than the others I've found online because it sounded like it would be thick, and my boyfriend said he liked it thick. However, I think next time I would use one of the other recipes, since they called for a greater ratio of water to cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
with smart balance and honey with a splash of vanilla silk, mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I added some cinnamon to the cornmeal and water before cooking it and then added sugar and milk after I had finished cooking it. Like another reviewer mentioned, it reminded me of cream of wheat. I might have it again and will try adding raisins. That might help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
My mother used to make this when I was a little girl. It's great with butter an d sugar. Try cooking it in the microwave instead of the stovetop and it will be less likely to get lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This recipe was ok but only because I added a ton of sugar and cinnamon. Maybe I will try it again because it is very filling and would be good on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I love this recipe! It's a great breakfast and also great if you want to make it and chill it overnight to cook in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albany, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
very good filling breakfast try with honey and mix in some granola
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States