Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
For quicker single-serving preparation, keep the ratio at 3 parts water/1 part cornmeal and microwave. Just make sure you stir every 30 seconds or so until the desired thickness is attained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I added more water. For all cornmeal mush, here's a simple ratio to remember: 1-1-2, meaning: 1c cold water, 1c corn meal, 2c boiling water. Add 1c corn meal to 1c cold water, stir. Pour cold mixture into 2c boiling water. The ratio will always stay the same, so increase or decrease amounts proportionally according to ratio. Thickening times will vary. Stir till thickened..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I used to have this as a child and loved it. My mother, a Cuban cook, cooked in a big pot; She put 1TBS vegetable oil, salt and mixed the polenta (Cornmeal) with water before adding it to the pot. I added 1 cup of sweet corn kernels in and sprinkled some parmasean cheese. Delicious. I also used to eat it by pouring milk on top. I didn't like it sweet, though. Loved as a savoury hot breakfast cereal. I used to call it 'Goldilock's Porridge' LOL :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very tasty breakfast. Added some sweetened condensed milk and a bit of cinnamon. Delicious! The hubby has requested it several times for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
My Mom made this all the time. Pour into a loaf pan, chill it overnight. Cut into slices and dredge in flour, then pan-fry. Top with butter or margarine and real maple syrup, or with whatever topping you prefer for pancakes. However, maple is probably the best topping for corn meal mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This recipe is as good as it gets. Use your imagination with the cornmeal and add to it what you wish for breakfast. I use sweet condensed milk which adds enough sweetness to it. To prevent lumps, if you add the cornmeal to the boiling water slowly whisking all the time, you won't have to worry about the lumps at all. You don't need to use a lot of oil to fry them, put your heat on medium to high, and you should be fine. If you are going to fry the cornmeal and not eat it as a hot breakfast cereal, try adding some Parmesan cheese to it, [or your favourite cheese] then roll it up in a log in plastic wrap. Then cut what you need to fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I double this usually. My kids love it served with honey and milk. It's a nice break from our usual oatmeal. Made it today as I've made the last couple of years and there wasn't enough to go around! LoL I think now I need to start tripling it... :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Lumpy, added syrup to taste better. Used milk to make it creamier, still bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I substituted (almond)milk for the water and added a drizzle of honey and brown sugar before added the cornmeal. Tasted fabulous! Very filling! I will try the frying it with a little flour and butter next time..sounds good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Make sure you follow the directions and start with the water and cornmeal mixed BEFORE heating. If you get lumps it's because you added the grain to hot water instead of cold. This is a basic recipe and it's accurate for a basic mush. It's what you do with it after the mush is made that makes is good! My husband likes to eat his like grits, with salt and butter. I prefer mine sweet. I mix in 1 cup of flavored yogurt and have it as cereal in the morning. It can also be used as a polenta, served along side meat and veggies. You may want to add cheese or other seasonings if you want it savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States