Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My grandmother used to make this for me on week-ends. Often she would add leftover crumbled bacon before chilling to slice and fry. She served it with warm maple syrup or sometimes as a side to eggs. Also slice and top with favorite cheese and put under the broiler -- this makes a great lunch item. I don't remember her ever serving as a cereal, but I will try it now -- as another reviewer suggested, I'll also try adding crumbled cooked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
My dad used to make this for us and I loved it. It is just as he made it. Love it fried after chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
The 1-1-2 plan is the best I have found. I just want to warn you to be careful of the pops, they can burn you, but I have a solution. Wear 2 oven mitts to stir. Sounds funny but it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
When I was growing up in Indiana I enjoyed this as displayed and also this goes good with pinto beans. Especially when weather outside was cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wish I had read the reviews before making. Not nearly enough water for the amount of cornmeal, cooked to a thick gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
When I was a small child I was in the hospital for 2 months - every morning I was served this cornmeal mush with large pieces of date in it. I loved it then and I love it now. Also very good with raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
It is kind of hard to review something as simple to make as this. I am 69 years old and got my recipe from my grandmother who used to make fried mush all the time. She was a great home-style cook who raised her family during the depression so cheap was her most important word. The best way to cook mush is boil water and add mush and cold water mixture while stirring. This eliminates any lumps. I needed the ratio of water to mush. We prefer to fry the mush in bacon grease as this adds some flavor. I like mine with lots of butter and salt and pepper. Everyone else likes butter and syrup or honey. That's a little to sweet for me first thing in the AM. You can add sausage to the mush before it's fried. It can be a dinner dish with chili on it or tomato sauce with chicken or italian sausage. You don't need to fry it. It is good in a bowl with butter, with or without sugar. It is really versatile and cheap and easy. Use your imagination to make many meals with mush as the basis. Have fun and bon appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ossining, New York, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The best way to cook this very simple dish, is to do it in a slow cooker. Just add 4 cups of water to 1 cup of corn meal and salt to taste and let it cook to the consistency of a cream. If you want to get fancy, add corn nibblets into the mix, and then top the finished dish with 1 or 2 fried eggs and/or chile con carne or sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
For quicker single-serving preparation, keep the ratio at 3 parts water/1 part cornmeal and microwave. Just make sure you stir every 30 seconds or so until the desired thickness is attained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I added more water. For all cornmeal mush, here's a simple ratio to remember: 1-1-2, meaning: 1c cold water, 1c corn meal, 2c boiling water. Add 1c corn meal to 1c cold water, stir. Pour cold mixture into 2c boiling water. The ratio will always stay the same, so increase or decrease amounts proportionally according to ratio. Thickening times will vary. Stir till thickened..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States