Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Horrible recipe or horribly written, it was a mess, and thick and lumpy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This really is a great recipe. It makes a fantastic breakfast. It is especially great when you eat it with syrup and milk. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Spread it on a plate cover with marinara sauce and sprinkle with grated Parmesan cheese. This is called Polenta and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My grandmother used to make this for me on week-ends. Often she would add leftover crumbled bacon before chilling to slice and fry. She served it with warm maple syrup or sometimes as a side to eggs. Also slice and top with favorite cheese and put under the broiler -- this makes a great lunch item. I don't remember her ever serving as a cereal, but I will try it now -- as another reviewer suggested, I'll also try adding crumbled cooked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
My dad used to make this for us and I loved it. It is just as he made it. Love it fried after chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
The 1-1-2 plan is the best I have found. I just want to warn you to be careful of the pops, they can burn you, but I have a solution. Wear 2 oven mitts to stir. Sounds funny but it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
When I was growing up in Indiana I enjoyed this as displayed and also this goes good with pinto beans. Especially when weather outside was cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wish I had read the reviews before making. Not nearly enough water for the amount of cornmeal, cooked to a thick gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
When I was a small child I was in the hospital for 2 months - every morning I was served this cornmeal mush with large pieces of date in it. I loved it then and I love it now. Also very good with raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
It is kind of hard to review something as simple to make as this. I am 69 years old and got my recipe from my grandmother who used to make fried mush all the time. She was a great home-style cook who raised her family during the depression so cheap was her most important word. The best way to cook mush is boil water and add mush and cold water mixture while stirring. This eliminates any lumps. I needed the ratio of water to mush. We prefer to fry the mush in bacon grease as this adds some flavor. I like mine with lots of butter and salt and pepper. Everyone else likes butter and syrup or honey. That's a little to sweet for me first thing in the AM. You can add sausage to the mush before it's fried. It can be a dinner dish with chili on it or tomato sauce with chicken or italian sausage. You don't need to fry it. It is good in a bowl with butter, with or without sugar. It is really versatile and cheap and easy. Use your imagination to make many meals with mush as the basis. Have fun and bon appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ossining, New York, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States