Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
add a splash more water (to taste) and use this like pancake batter, then cover with Karo syrup and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Horrible recipe or horribly written, it was a mess, and thick and lumpy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This really is a great recipe. It makes a fantastic breakfast. It is especially great when you eat it with syrup and milk. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Pearson Pike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Spread it on a plate cover with marinara sauce and sprinkle with grated Parmesan cheese. This is called Polenta and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My grandmother used to make this for me on week-ends. Often she would add leftover crumbled bacon before chilling to slice and fry. She served it with warm maple syrup or sometimes as a side to eggs. Also slice and top with favorite cheese and put under the broiler -- this makes a great lunch item. I don't remember her ever serving as a cereal, but I will try it now -- as another reviewer suggested, I'll also try adding crumbled cooked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
My dad used to make this for us and I loved it. It is just as he made it. Love it fried after chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
The 1-1-2 plan is the best I have found. I just want to warn you to be careful of the pops, they can burn you, but I have a solution. Wear 2 oven mitts to stir. Sounds funny but it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
When I was growing up in Indiana I enjoyed this as displayed and also this goes good with pinto beans. Especially when weather outside was cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wish I had read the reviews before making. Not nearly enough water for the amount of cornmeal, cooked to a thick gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
When I was a small child I was in the hospital for 2 months - every morning I was served this cornmeal mush with large pieces of date in it. I loved it then and I love it now. Also very good with raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States