Cornmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These cookies are good: I didn't change or add anything. Where the recipe calls for butter flavor extract, I just used the same amount of butter. I didn't have any butter extract. Be sure after everything is added that you mix from the bottom of the bowl up. I used my hands to be sure that all the cornmeal was mixed in equally. The time to bake these was not mentioned so, I used a stopwatch and did 2 batches of them at 14 min., and the final batch at 13 min. Both batches came out great. I wouldn't bake them any longer than 14 min. These are also good dipped in milk after they have cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Very easy recipe! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Verrrrry good. Good with added nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These remind me of Russian Crescent Cookies. The cornmeal gives it the slight coarseness the ground walnuts give the Crescent Cookies. Like another review said, don't cook over 14 minutes. They will harden more once out of the oven. Great bite sized treats and addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
These cookies are simple and delicious! I followed the recipe as stated except I skipped the butter flavored extract because I didn't have any. Also there is no baking time listed so I baked them for 13 minutes. These cookies did come out a little dry for me but I'm sure a glass of milk would fix that! All in all our family enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STACICW
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
We loved these! They taste like little, sweet bites of cornbread but with a cookie texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Quick,easy & tasty! Didn't have butter extract so I used 1tsp. of vanilla instead. Also used the butter flavored Crisco. (that's what I had on hand) The recipe made 29 cookies using a level 1oz. cookie scoop. Cooked 6 min., rotated the pans & then cooked 7 min. more. Perfect! Make sure to cool the cookies on the sheet pan a bit, otherwise they will fall apart on you. Hubby was skeptical about tasting these because he doesn't care for corn muffins but he had to stop himself after the 4th one. This is a keeper and will be making again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
These are delightful! They have so much flavor. I used butter instead of shortening and I used a tablespoon of melted butter instead of the butter extract. I added dried cherries, which are actually dried cranberries infused with cherry juice, so good! This cookie is a cross between butter cookies, sugar cookies, and sweet cornbread. It's a delicate cookie bursting with flavor. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Oh boy! So I tried these initially and they totally flopped!! I had used a substitute for the shortening,(not crazy about shortening) and was sure that was the reason they didn't turn out, however I still loved the delicate sweet flavor of the cookie itself. So fast forward to now, made them again and still substituted my shortening again-this time I used cream cheese. They turned out fabulous!! Love love love! A wonderful cookie, and we sprinkled some green and pink sugar on top for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Pretty darned good! I *love* cornbread muffins, so I wanted to try this recipe. I substituted margarine for the shortening and omitted the butter extract because I didn't have those ingredients. Also, just for an extra treat, I added 1/2 cup of raisins (saw that in another cornbread cookie recipe here). My cooking time was 12 minutes (my oven is a bit on the hot side). The cookies came out nicely browned on the bottom and edges. The yield was 33 nicely-sized cookies. Next time, I'm going to double the recipe because I don't think this batch will last more than a day. Again, an *excellent* recipe... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States