Cornmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Good, plain, straightforward cookie. I did not roll them out, but made about 1 inch balls and flattened, 12 min cooked them perfectly. Crisp and light. Perfect for dipping in coffee or hot chocolate. It would do quite well with other extracts other than vanilla (lemon, almond, etc)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuLait

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
These came out really good. I omitted the raisins and instead added a little bit of orange zest and the orange flavor came out so perfectly. After they cooled, I dipped one end in melted chocolate. Everyone loves them. Am going to make for the holidays this year. Also good with dusting powdered sugar if you do not like chocolate. I highly recommend the orange zest. A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and used leaf cookie cutters for fall and they were lovely. The taste and texture were excellent and everyone who ate them to loved them. The only suggestion I have is, if you add the raisins remember that you might have just a little difficulty cutting through them with the cookie cutters. I tried a second batch and pressed raisins onto the tops of each cookie after cutting and got the same delicious result with easy cutting. I will make these a lot. Overall great! What a different texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Great took it the the county fair, I won 1st! great cookie (under cooked tastes better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
A very good cookie when you aren't in the mood for typical chocolate chip or peanut butter. They are great for cookie exchanges. It will be different than the others. I did add a few teaspoons of molasses for the fun of it and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These cookies were really good; very light and crisp with a delicious crunch from the cornmeal. I did make a few changes to the recipe; I used only 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar. I also used dried cranberries instead of the raisins. I chopped the cranberries up so that they wouldn't cause a problem with the cookie cutter. Last of all, I added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. These cookies were very different and tasty. I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Fantastic cookie that has now become a family favourite. The only problem is that it does not last long enough for company b/c my husband and kids eat them while they are cooling. I omit the raisins and dust with icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This is a wonderful cut-out cookie recipe when you don't use the raisins.. I may use it for all my cut-out cookies because the dough works wonderfully and the texture and flavor is so nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Fantastic cookies Eve!I'd never even heard of these before but after reading the reviews, I had to try them. Both the taste and texture are great. I'll be making these quite often I think. :-) I didn't add raisins (I have quite an aversion to them). I didn't roll the dough out and cut it. Instead, I formed the dough into balls and flattened with a fork dipped in sugar. Chilling is a necessity, as this dough is quite soft. It's all that yummy butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe for all ages. My elementary school students love them, and so does my grandmother! They're crunchy and not overly sweet, but still buttery and delicious. I prefer them without the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies V

Chocolate oatmeal cookies that don't require oven time.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States