Cornmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Awesome! I love crisp cookies so these were perfect. I might add some lemon next time to make it more of a lemon snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Good, plain, straightforward cookie. I did not roll them out, but made about 1 inch balls and flattened, 12 min cooked them perfectly. Crisp and light. Perfect for dipping in coffee or hot chocolate. It would do quite well with other extracts other than vanilla (lemon, almond, etc)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuLait

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Fantastic cookies Eve!I'd never even heard of these before but after reading the reviews, I had to try them. Both the taste and texture are great. I'll be making these quite often I think. :-) I didn't add raisins (I have quite an aversion to them). I didn't roll the dough out and cut it. Instead, I formed the dough into balls and flattened with a fork dipped in sugar. Chilling is a necessity, as this dough is quite soft. It's all that yummy butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Delicious!! I love these cookies! I used a 2 1/2 inch shamrock-shaped cookie cutter. At 1/4" thickness, I ended up with 24 cookies. I baked them for 8 1/2 minutes, til the bottoms were golden. They were soft & crispy-cruchy at the same time. They did puff & spread somewhat in the oven. Probably putting the pan of unbaked cookies in the fridge for 15 minutes would have re-chilled the dough and allieviated this. I did not use the raisins. Next time, the *only* thing I would do differently would be to make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I was surprised by these cookies -- they stayed fresh for well over a week in a tupperware container, and were delicious. We forgot to add the raisins, but even without them, the cookies were tasty, and had a shortbread like texture. I substitued the all purpose flour with a gluten free mix, but I couldn't tell the difference. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
I agree with other reviewers: this is a good recipe for when you are in the mood for something a bit different, and I can see how they'd be good for Thanksgiving. They are sugary like a sugar cookie, but with an interesting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I've love these cookies. I used to have them as a child a little old lady would bake these for the neighborhood kids. I've been looking everywhere for this recipe. Thank you for sharing your grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe for all ages. My elementary school students love them, and so does my grandmother! They're crunchy and not overly sweet, but still buttery and delicious. I prefer them without the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
These were very good! Very similar to sugar cookies. The cornmeal is an excellent addition. Next time I think I'll add just a little bit more of it. I love the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This is a wonderful cut-out cookie recipe when you don't use the raisins.. I may use it for all my cut-out cookies because the dough works wonderfully and the texture and flavor is so nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States