Cornmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These cookies were really good; very light and crisp with a delicious crunch from the cornmeal. I did make a few changes to the recipe; I used only 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar. I also used dried cranberries instead of the raisins. I chopped the cranberries up so that they wouldn't cause a problem with the cookie cutter. Last of all, I added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. These cookies were very different and tasty. I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
These tasted like butter cookies. There was only a slight hint of the taste of cornmeal. I was wondering if it's because I used finely ground cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I didn't use raisins and I rolled these and iced them, and they were great! Crunchy and not too sweet. Easy dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
What a nice little cookie and the dough is so soft. I didn't try to roll them out, I just rolled them in plastic wrap, chilled them, then while still in the plastic wrap rolled them into a long tube about the size of a 50 cent piece. I cut them thin, baked them for 11 minutes and sprinkled them with powdered sugar. My 88 year old Dad who is a master cornbread maker and has it every day, loved these cookies. I gave some of the dough to my friend and she and her husband loved them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I had some left over sour cream and felt like experimenting, so I used it in place of the butter. Of course, they didn't come out crisp, but they still had a great flavor-just enough sweetness with the cornmeal. I will probably try this again with butter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I really liked these- very much a balanced mix between cornbread and sugar cookies. Texture and consistency is like a cookie, yet your tongue is trying to place the slight underlying semblence of cornbread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I thought these had a weird taste to them. Definately do not bake them to thick they end up tasting very dry. They were better as a thinner crisper cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
These came out really good. I omitted the raisins and instead added a little bit of orange zest and the orange flavor came out so perfectly. After they cooled, I dipped one end in melted chocolate. Everyone loves them. Am going to make for the holidays this year. Also good with dusting powdered sugar if you do not like chocolate. I highly recommend the orange zest. A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Fantastic cookie that has now become a family favourite. The only problem is that it does not last long enough for company b/c my husband and kids eat them while they are cooling. I omit the raisins and dust with icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IVANDIEPART
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Not at all what I expected. I thought these were going to be crunchy cookies with some kind of "natural" flavor, but they turned out to be soft and tasted plain. They are OK, but absolutely nothing special to them. Won't bake them again, I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States