Cornmeal Coating Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Awesome! I used salt cod that's been boiled a few times and then breaded according to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LADYBOYD
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Made this today. Usually use store bought fish coating. Never again. Only thing diff I did was season my fish with lemon pepper (lawrys) and garlic powder. Also did not use the marinade and my fish came out perfect. I used a whole trout. Will definitely use this again when I'm in the mood for fried fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYBOYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I read another review in which they said it wasn't crispy enough; which I cannot understand. This coating was really crispy but still light. I hate a thick batter and this is exactly what I was looking for. I followed the recipe minus the thyme. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Awesome breading. Stayed crispy for a long time but is not heavy at all. I did small 1.5" inch pieces of red drum and it turned out fantastic from the deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
We use Peanut oil when frying fish, less absorbition from oil, Flash-Point (when oil smoke's from heat and catche's fire) is the highest of all meaning it can be used for extreme temperature's without breaking down. This recipe is Great for any White Fish including Cod, Polluck and Halibut. Make a batch of "Hush Puppies" to compliment your Fish. Remember that the type of White Fish you use may require various coating technique's as mentioned in the rating's here....Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Made it as the recipe is written and I couldn't really taste any of the seasonings well. It had such a high ratio of flour to cornmeal that it wasn't very crunchy/crisp, but I suppose it is called a "coating"... I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was so much better than battered fish. My kids ate it up without putting a thing on it. Lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Excelent. Simple and easy. My 6 year old picky eater ate it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Excellent with cod and I think I've also had good luck using it on catfish. I just had a little trouble keeping the coating on the cod when I tried to flip it. Maybe that's why you use only 3 oz fillets. Mine were pretty big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
coat the chicken with milk ...needs more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jades

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States