Cornish Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
LOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVEEEEEE IT!!!-ok it wasnt as good as my grandma's rolls but for someone who is bread handicapped-me- it was easy and tasty. Even my EXTEMELY picky husband liked it and has asked me to make them twice since-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Good taste when you add a full tsp of salt, but everytime I've made this recipe the rolls have come out too dense. Maybe it's something I'm doing wrong, but I just can't get the texture right with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
My whole family loved these. I also added a full teaspoon of salt. Oddly enough, I like these better reheated the next day then fresh out of the oven. They're delicious when slathered with butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I followed suggestions from other reviews and added a full teaspoon of salt. I also modified it to my likings. Instead of 1 tablespoon of sugar, I added 2 tablespoons of honey. This gives the roll a slight sweet flavor and it's very tasty. This would also be a great base roll recipe to play around with, with various fresh/dry herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meiling206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Love this recipe!! Have tried many, this beats all. My family just gobbles them up. Uses common ingredients, and is simple. I can even cheat a little and shorten the rising time- still perfect & no yeasty taste. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Very tasty however it was very heavy. I will use this recipe again however, I will shape into 18 rolls and try adding 1 tsp more of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sneakyteaky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
These were VERY soft. After reading the other reviews (while the rolls were already rising), I decided that next time I will increase the salt to bring out the flavors. However, I did melt some butter and added garlic salt with parsley to it and brushed it over the rolls before putting them in the oven. This did add some flavor. I will be making these again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
especially good with fresh butter and jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
These were very good and quite simple. I agree they need a little sprucing up as far as flavour goes. I used 3/4 tsp of salt, and 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, which was pretty subtle. I baked them for 15 minutes, but found the tops a little tough for my taste, but inside they were soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Wow, these are wonderful! 1/4 tsp. of salt didn't sound like enough, so I followed other reviewer's advice and added a full teaspoon. The flavor and texture of these rolls is perfect. I will definitely make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States