Cornish Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Good taste when you add a full tsp of salt, but everytime I've made this recipe the rolls have come out too dense. Maybe it's something I'm doing wrong, but I just can't get the texture right with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
My whole family loved these. I also added a full teaspoon of salt. Oddly enough, I like these better reheated the next day then fresh out of the oven. They're delicious when slathered with butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I followed suggestions from other reviews and added a full teaspoon of salt. I also modified it to my likings. Instead of 1 tablespoon of sugar, I added 2 tablespoons of honey. This gives the roll a slight sweet flavor and it's very tasty. This would also be a great base roll recipe to play around with, with various fresh/dry herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meiling206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Love this recipe!! Have tried many, this beats all. My family just gobbles them up. Uses common ingredients, and is simple. I can even cheat a little and shorten the rising time- still perfect & no yeasty taste. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Very tasty however it was very heavy. I will use this recipe again however, I will shape into 18 rolls and try adding 1 tsp more of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sneakyteaky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
These were VERY soft. After reading the other reviews (while the rolls were already rising), I decided that next time I will increase the salt to bring out the flavors. However, I did melt some butter and added garlic salt with parsley to it and brushed it over the rolls before putting them in the oven. This did add some flavor. I will be making these again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
especially good with fresh butter and jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
These were very good and quite simple. I agree they need a little sprucing up as far as flavour goes. I used 3/4 tsp of salt, and 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, which was pretty subtle. I baked them for 15 minutes, but found the tops a little tough for my taste, but inside they were soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Wow, these are wonderful! 1/4 tsp. of salt didn't sound like enough, so I followed other reviewer's advice and added a full teaspoon. The flavor and texture of these rolls is perfect. I will definitely make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Oh my!!These rolls were sooo easy to work with-great for a first time roll/bread maker!!I too was sceptical about only 1tsp of yeast but they turned out great.As per previous reviews,I too added 1 tsp instead of 1/4.They would also be great with some herbs(basil perhaps) mixed in.I usually make biscuits with dinner but because these were so easy I will deffinately be making these more often.My husband said they were like his mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Hughes Cormier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States