Cornish Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! I did make some changes...I know, I know. However, they were minor so the integrity of the recipe stayed. I scalded the milk and then added 2 tbsp. of honey. Then I allowed it to cool to lukewarm before adding my yeast and sugar. I also brushed the tops with melted butter as soon as they came out of the oven..my husband and kids can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Great when hot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
These were delicious! I took the advice of others and increased the salt by 1 teaspoon. I also brushed them with egg whites for the last 10 minutes of baking. They turned out beautiful! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I have made this recipe many times now and it has never failed to wow my family. They love these rolls. I use my bread machine on the dough setting, but I put the milk and yeast in and let them sit for about ten minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelonieF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
At last I found Grandma's recipe for rolls! These are very good! I did up the salt to 1 tsp. per other reviewers, and I may even up it a bit more next time. The dough did not rise much either first rise, or second rise, I was sure my yeast was bad, but they puffed up in the oven just as they should. This is a heavier roll, not a fluffy, light roll, just what I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Not bad, but I honey-fied it. Instead of sugar, I put about 2 tbsps honey, which actually still wasn't enough even when i halved the recipe. I'll put a little more next time, and added butter and honey on top 10 minutes into the baking. And it turned out a loaf, not rolls, guess I did it wrongly lol, but it's a very good base recipe to mess around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngnsassy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Yishun, North Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingMaMa08
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I just made a batch last night of these wonderful rolls and had one right out of the oven. They are just amazing! They are dense, but soft, chewy and moist. I agree with some reveiwers that the recipe may need additional salt. The rolls don't have much taste unless you plan to spread salted butter afterwards. 1/4 teaspoon of salt is just not enough for 3 cups of flour. Overall, this is the easiest dinner roll recipe I found so far. It doesn't take forever to wait on the dough to raise. The dough is easy to work with even for beginners. My hubby prefers wheat flour, so I will try using wheat flour next time. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe. Will try again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Kind of a cross between a muffin and a biscuit. I thought they would be more roll like. I did sub evaporated milk because I was out of regular milk. I also made in my bread machine. Used a muffin tin to bake them. Also, mine were done in less time, so watch them carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very tasty! They worked up very well in the bread machine, and were a snap to form and bake. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made these last night, they were the easiest and most delicious rolls ever. They reminded my husband and myself of the ones served at Bob Evans. I did all the mixing w/my bread machine couldn't have been easier!! I'm going to make these for my whone family on Easter Sunday Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States