Cornish Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Wonderfully soft with great texture. I used 1 tsp salt, 1 cup whole wheat bread flour, and 2 cups of white bread flour. The dough is kind of sticky but the listed amount of flour is perfect once you mix it all in. This will be my roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Very good - I made as directed and my only complaint is they lack any sort of taste - neither salty or sweet, still yummy but next time I make these I will add a bit more salt (as per other reviews). I did cheat and used the bread maker for the kneading and first rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
These were very good and came out perfect. And they're pretty. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I only had bleached AP flour. (I want to start trying the unbleached but have too much flour around to buy it right now.) They rose fine (the second rising took a bit longer than 15 min) and came out fluffy. Now - mine were done in only 10 minutes. I'm not sure if some of the "crusty" tops were because of the 15-20 minute cooking time or not. And my oven is right on. These are on the biggish side and I used 2 for small burger buns and just ate the rest as rolls. Perhaps my expectations of a roll are different, because they didn't taste any more "bland" than most rolls I've had - they're just rolls, except freshly made. Granted, the 5 stars was barely, but that was because they were a hair on the floury side. But I kneaded these with my own two little hands (about 6-8 min), they were sticky, and some flour got worked in. I tried to keep it to a minimum but more was needed to knead. (And when it says to knead, I KNEAD.) But except for the bit of floury-ness, they tasted fine. But I do put butter or something on my rolls. (As a side note, I noticed a couple of comments about bread flour -- I've never used bread flour, always all purpose. And my breads have come out find this way.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly except I baked mine at 400 as my oven runs a little hot. Was making teriakki chicken with veggies tonight and tomorrow I'm making slow cooker meatballs with pasta. Due to the fact that we're only two people I figured I could sprinkle an Italian seasoning/salt mixture on half of the rolls to pair with the meatballs/spaghetti tomorrow. The other half of the rolls I left plain to have with my dinner tonight. I must say that these rolls were extremely bland. I did not taste the sugar at all and I definitely did not taste the salt at all. (so if you're reading this review to make alterations then definitely make sugar content [for sweet rolls] and/or salt content [for savory rolls] higher, probably double or triple)...The only reason I gave this recipe 3 stars is because the texture is right on and perfect. I also gave this recipe some slack because my guess is that although they are bland, they're tolerable enough to be really good with the meatballs and spaghetti tonight (the ones I sprinkled with It. Seasoning and salt that is, as I'm the type to put some meatballs/sauce onto any bread I'm eating on the side. So these rolls have potentiality to be ok dipped in something or eaten with something savory or sweet (jam or something) in the same bite but by themselves they are way too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This has become the standard roll recipe in our family. Quick. Easy. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Broomhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I thought these were pretty bland. For the work involved, I'll stick with Rhodes rolls for now..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I finally found a great bread roll to use for sandwiches and burgers. I added an entire teaspoon of salt and I omitted the sugar entirely. Perfect savoury roll (would be bland with less salt, and I never see a need for sugar in bread recipes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Worthing, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
We liked the fact that these were dense rolls & we liked the texture. However, they were extremely bland, with little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKIENBUSCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was my first attempt at making a dinner roll and they came out great! They are a very heavy roll, but very good! The taste of the bread lacks salt, so add more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynna.z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Great rolls without a lot of effort or a ton of butter that look appealing but need a little work in the taste department. They are very dense, crispy on the outside, and soft on the inside, but lack a lot of flavor. I used 1 tsp. of salt, but next time if I want a sweeter roll, I may up the sugar to as much as 3 Tbsp. maybe some honey or for an herbed roll add fresh herbs and/or serve with an herb butter. It's a good base and the last three minutes of baking I put melted butter over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States