Cornish Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! I did make some changes...I know, I know. However, they were minor so the integrity of the recipe stayed. I scalded the milk and then added 2 tbsp. of honey. Then I allowed it to cool to lukewarm before adding my yeast and sugar. I also brushed the tops with melted butter as soon as they came out of the oven..my husband and kids can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Great when hot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
These were delicious! I took the advice of others and increased the salt by 1 teaspoon. I also brushed them with egg whites for the last 10 minutes of baking. They turned out beautiful! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I have made this recipe many times now and it has never failed to wow my family. They love these rolls. I use my bread machine on the dough setting, but I put the milk and yeast in and let them sit for about ten minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelonieF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
At last I found Grandma's recipe for rolls! These are very good! I did up the salt to 1 tsp. per other reviewers, and I may even up it a bit more next time. The dough did not rise much either first rise, or second rise, I was sure my yeast was bad, but they puffed up in the oven just as they should. This is a heavier roll, not a fluffy, light roll, just what I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Not bad, but I honey-fied it. Instead of sugar, I put about 2 tbsps honey, which actually still wasn't enough even when i halved the recipe. I'll put a little more next time, and added butter and honey on top 10 minutes into the baking. And it turned out a loaf, not rolls, guess I did it wrongly lol, but it's a very good base recipe to mess around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngnsassy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Yishun, North Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingMaMa08
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I just made a batch last night of these wonderful rolls and had one right out of the oven. They are just amazing! They are dense, but soft, chewy and moist. I agree with some reveiwers that the recipe may need additional salt. The rolls don't have much taste unless you plan to spread salted butter afterwards. 1/4 teaspoon of salt is just not enough for 3 cups of flour. Overall, this is the easiest dinner roll recipe I found so far. It doesn't take forever to wait on the dough to raise. The dough is easy to work with even for beginners. My hubby prefers wheat flour, so I will try using wheat flour next time. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe. Will try again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Kind of a cross between a muffin and a biscuit. I thought they would be more roll like. I did sub evaporated milk because I was out of regular milk. I also made in my bread machine. Used a muffin tin to bake them. Also, mine were done in less time, so watch them carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very tasty! They worked up very well in the bread machine, and were a snap to form and bake. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made these last night, they were the easiest and most delicious rolls ever. They reminded my husband and myself of the ones served at Bob Evans. I did all the mixing w/my bread machine couldn't have been easier!! I'm going to make these for my whone family on Easter Sunday Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States