Cornish Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Wonderful large soft bread rolls. This was the first time I have ever baked bread using A.P Flour, so I was a little concerned as I have always been told only to use bread flour, but I should not have worried these were delicious. I will be using this recipe again and again. I did make a few little changes! Added the milk and yeast to the breadmaker first and let sit for 10 minutes before adding the butter and then the dry ingredients. I let my bread maker do all the mixing and kneeding. Put the 9 rolls in a buttered and floured square pan, covered with a damp cloth and let sit for 15 minutes before baking in the oven. Only thing I will do different next time, is use a round pan simply for the round roll shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Nice texture -- very heavy. But they were absolutely lacking in flavor. They would be a good base for "spicing up".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Absolutely tasteless -- I hate to say. They were very dense, bland, and just not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Convent, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This recipe made very tasty rolls. I also doubled the recipe and used a 9x13 pan. I was worried that the dough was too soft to ever form up into balls, but after the 1st rise, it did in fact form up nicely and wound up being an easy dough to work with. The rolls were pretty tasty, though I will add extra salt if I make them again. My husband liked them a lot more than I did--I think I still prefer my usual roll recipe, which involves shortening and makes ultra soft rolls. Still, I'm very glad I tried them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
My first attempt at making yeast rolls and these were awesome! I doubled the recipe and used a 9 x 13 pan, and with a little leftover dough, was able to make 15 of the most perfect, dense, delicious rolls! Everyone raved about the flavor and density. When they first came out, the tops were really hard. I thought I had overcooked them, so I brushed butter all over the tops to soften them up... Made them extra buttery and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Circuit Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is a good base recipe for dense, biscuit-like rolls. They're pretty good with herbed butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally-gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
One word....DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweettreats

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Very nice!! Turned out perfect for the first attempt itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Super easy to make, tried it last night & the family loved them- ended up making another batch tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Flaherty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Easy to make but they didn't have much flavor, which was surprising because they smelled so good while they were baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States