Cornish Pasty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Not nearly enough pastry to use up all the filling, and filling was WAY too dry. I had to double the pastry recipe, and ended up with 15 pasties! Next time I'll probably inject some gravy into it when it is halfway done cooking to help it moisten up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Instead of using all butter for the pastry, try half and half of butter and lard. This makes the pastry lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
i am from northern minnesota and we always had our pasties with rutabaga...but i also like them with carrots and my kids prefer them that way...i lost my grandmas dough recipe and this one is the closest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I used frozen sheets of puff pastry with this, but the filling was excellent. The leftovers were divided up gor easy lunches and people at work started asking for the recipe when they smelled them heating back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
For a more authentic recipe, try substituting the cooked carrot for raw swede (rutabega) or raw turnip. This give a great peppery taste. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I am from Wisconsin and when I was a girl we used to go up North and visit the old minning areas and you know the stoy of the Pasty. The minors used to take them into the mine with them so they could just pull them out of their pocket and have a good meal while they were working. Anyway I didn't really like the pasty they were very dry and didn't have a lot of flavor. I remember the shell being very dry. But these are very very good,the crust is light and flaky. And it was a great compliment to the meat and vedges on the inside. I used stu meat and that worked out great. `Thanks for the great recipe it brought me back to my childhood and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
While carrot works perfectly fine with potato in a pasty, the previous reviewer is correct - an authentic Cornish pasty is made with turnip (rutabaga is an ok substitute). I add LOTS of freshly-ground pepper as that's what I'm used to. Good recipe - reminds me of home. Thanks, Barrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I have just one problem with the recipee, it contains carrots, that's a no-no. If you can change the 2 small carrots to 1 small turnip, this is the traditional ingredient. Carrots were added by non Cornish types. The very first pasties eaten by the tin miners of Cornwall were made as a meal in one and would have the meaty mix at one end and a sweet mix at the other. The pastie was created with a ridge of pastry down it's middle because tin mining was a dangerous and poisonous trade and the miner would hold the pastie by it's ridge which he would then throw away so as not to poison himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
These tasted good, but I found the recipe didn't make near enough pastry dough for the amount of filling. I recommend rolling it out thinner than the recipe calls for--the crust was so thick it was hard to get much filling in there. We fried up the leftover filling in a skillet and it made a nice hash. This was not the light, thin, crispy pasty crust I got used to during my trips to southwest England, but they did still taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I only made the doe for Pasty it rolls out grate & thin whit out any effort at all & its not salty like a lot iv found its a no brainier just grate LA,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cornish Pasty

See how to make a classic meat pie filled with skirt steak, onions, and potatoes.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States