Cornish Pasty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
i am from northern minnesota and we always had our pasties with rutabaga...but i also like them with carrots and my kids prefer them that way...i lost my grandmas dough recipe and this one is the closest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I used frozen sheets of puff pastry with this, but the filling was excellent. The leftovers were divided up gor easy lunches and people at work started asking for the recipe when they smelled them heating back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
For a more authentic recipe, try substituting the cooked carrot for raw swede (rutabega) or raw turnip. This give a great peppery taste. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I am from Wisconsin and when I was a girl we used to go up North and visit the old minning areas and you know the stoy of the Pasty. The minors used to take them into the mine with them so they could just pull them out of their pocket and have a good meal while they were working. Anyway I didn't really like the pasty they were very dry and didn't have a lot of flavor. I remember the shell being very dry. But these are very very good,the crust is light and flaky. And it was a great compliment to the meat and vedges on the inside. I used stu meat and that worked out great. `Thanks for the great recipe it brought me back to my childhood and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
While carrot works perfectly fine with potato in a pasty, the previous reviewer is correct - an authentic Cornish pasty is made with turnip (rutabaga is an ok substitute). I add LOTS of freshly-ground pepper as that's what I'm used to. Good recipe - reminds me of home. Thanks, Barrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I have just one problem with the recipee, it contains carrots, that's a no-no. If you can change the 2 small carrots to 1 small turnip, this is the traditional ingredient. Carrots were added by non Cornish types. The very first pasties eaten by the tin miners of Cornwall were made as a meal in one and would have the meaty mix at one end and a sweet mix at the other. The pastie was created with a ridge of pastry down it's middle because tin mining was a dangerous and poisonous trade and the miner would hold the pastie by it's ridge which he would then throw away so as not to poison himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
These tasted good, but I found the recipe didn't make near enough pastry dough for the amount of filling. I recommend rolling it out thinner than the recipe calls for--the crust was so thick it was hard to get much filling in there. We fried up the leftover filling in a skillet and it made a nice hash. This was not the light, thin, crispy pasty crust I got used to during my trips to southwest England, but they did still taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I only made the doe for Pasty it rolls out grate & thin whit out any effort at all & its not salty like a lot iv found its a no brainier just grate LA,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
we tried this last night (my boy and me ) and exchanged the beef for cornbeef from a can and we was plesantly surprised with the end results. We had all the ingrediants in the house and the recipe makes alot more than the authors suggested 6 servings. Most enjoyed and my family are happily eating this recipe now :) my thanks to the author .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States