Cornish Pasty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I only made the doe for Pasty it rolls out grate & thin whit out any effort at all & its not salty like a lot iv found its a no brainier just grate LA,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I am from Wisconsin and when I was a girl we used to go up North and visit the old minning areas and you know the stoy of the Pasty. The minors used to take them into the mine with them so they could just pull them out of their pocket and have a good meal while they were working. Anyway I didn't really like the pasty they were very dry and didn't have a lot of flavor. I remember the shell being very dry. But these are very very good,the crust is light and flaky. And it was a great compliment to the meat and vedges on the inside. I used stu meat and that worked out great. `Thanks for the great recipe it brought me back to my childhood and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
i am from northern minnesota and we always had our pasties with rutabaga...but i also like them with carrots and my kids prefer them that way...i lost my grandmas dough recipe and this one is the closest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I used this crust recipe to top a chicken pot pie. I added a little more salt and some herbs (basil, etc.), and also just kneaded it out instead of rolling it into shape. Fast and easy, it cooked up beautifully and I also added an egg wash over the top toward the end. Gorgeous and absolutely delicious! The best crust I've ever made. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I didn't have any meat so veered from the original recipe but it was still delicious. Vegetarian version if anyone's curious - 1 extra potato, 1 extra carrot (cooked as described), 1 chopped onion, 3 cloves chopped garlic, fresh rosemary (about 2 tsp) and 2 tbsp or so parmesan cheese. I would have liked a bit of sauce though so will try to figure that out next time. Oh- I used 1 c whole wheat flour in the pastry and rolled as thin as I could - still had leftover filling, enough for maybe 2 more pasties. The pastry IS good. Check it during the 1st 10 min to make sure it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is very similar to the Pasties my Dad makes. He grew up in Australia, where I was born. Pasties are very popular there, kind of like cheeseburgers here. Most people eat them with ketchup, but I think they taste great just as they are. I like the carrot in them, I think most Aussie's would agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I used frozen sheets of puff pastry with this, but the filling was excellent. The leftovers were divided up gor easy lunches and people at work started asking for the recipe when they smelled them heating back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
My grandmother is from Upper Michigan and her recipe calls for carrots, potatoes, onions, and rutabaga. We also use ground beef instead of rump roast and put a thin slice of butter inside for added flavor. We also eat ours with ketchup on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
The ingredients should always be uncooked going into the pasty, but other than that it was very good. Carrot can be substituted with rutabaga or turnip, but any of the 3 make a tasty pasty. Does anyone know if you can make these with pork?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delicious! I found that I had too much filling so I made more dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States