Cornish Pasty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Super-fail on the measurement of filling-to-dough. The filling directions can make a dozen EASY, and there is barely enough dough to make six 5-inch circles 1/4 inch thick, and you still have to reuse the scraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I liked these, but it needs more flavor, also a little dry. ext time i will add more pepper and seasoning and a llittle sugar to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
That's good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Nice idea and on the right track but leave out the carrots. This should be a cornish pasty and not a stew pie. A better cut of meat due to containing more fat is chuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is very similar to the Pasties my Dad makes. He grew up in Australia, where I was born. Pasties are very popular there, kind of like cheeseburgers here. Most people eat them with ketchup, but I think they taste great just as they are. I like the carrot in them, I think most Aussie's would agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
A traditional cornish pasty will not have carrots, instead it will be turnip (yellow) or more commonly known in the USA as rutubaga. Also, we don't mix the meat and veggies, rather layer starting with potato, turnip, onion, then meat followed by salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I just had a couple of issues with this recipe. First, I used a rutabaga instead of carrot to make these more authentic. Also, I had SO much filling left after making 6 of these that I had to make another batch of dough and still had a little bit left over. I made these another time with a recipe that didn't call for baking powder in the dough and liked it much better because it made a denser, more buttery crust and I thought the baking powder in this made the crust too puffy--or something. I will just use my old recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I have been making pasties for 27 years. Being from Northern Michigan, the traditional way to make a pasty includes potatoes, carrots, rutabaga, onions and beef, so naturally I added the carrots and onion. I only looked up this recipe for the dough, and it turned out well after I added another 4tbs. of butter. Without the additional butter, my flour/butter mixture was not the right consistency. After all the additions, it was a great recipe! Thanks you to the author for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I am from the UP of Michigan-home of the Yooper pasty-I use a cheap burger as it has more flavor and always throw in shredded rutabaga with the potato and onion-never carrots. The crust is a Yooper secret but I do place it in a pie tin, add 1c. filling, fold and crimp edge. We've made over 15,000 pasties at our local community club over the years and have never failed to sell out every time. Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawndra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I didn't have any meat so veered from the original recipe but it was still delicious. Vegetarian version if anyone's curious - 1 extra potato, 1 extra carrot (cooked as described), 1 chopped onion, 3 cloves chopped garlic, fresh rosemary (about 2 tsp) and 2 tbsp or so parmesan cheese. I would have liked a bit of sauce though so will try to figure that out next time. Oh- I used 1 c whole wheat flour in the pastry and rolled as thin as I could - still had leftover filling, enough for maybe 2 more pasties. The pastry IS good. Check it during the 1st 10 min to make sure it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornish Pasty

See how to make a classic meat pie filled with skirt steak, onions, and potatoes.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States