Cornish Pasty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I make these all the time, but with corned beef instead of Steak or stewing beef. Carrots or Turnips either is fine. I find it gives a bit more of a flavor punch to it.. Give it a try, bet you'll like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Bidgood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Carrots..never, a swede or yellow turnip as they call it here. A waxy potato is the best for this pie. Rump is used but skirt steak tastes more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delicious! I found that I had too much filling so I made more dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I used this crust recipe to top a chicken pot pie. I added a little more salt and some herbs (basil, etc.), and also just kneaded it out instead of rolling it into shape. Fast and easy, it cooked up beautifully and I also added an egg wash over the top toward the end. Gorgeous and absolutely delicious! The best crust I've ever made. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe is good but bear in mind the origin of this favorite. The cornish pasty was originally food for the miners. The idea is that the round edge of the crust where it meets would be slightly rolled to form a handle so that the miners would eat the pie and throw the crust away (being that they wouldn't have a place to wash before eating). This would have been made with more vegetables than meat which would have been any kind of leftover and actually most often lamb not beef. Still, a great recipe though - reminds me of my youth in England.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
great but not a carrot use a parsnip its traditional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
The filling recipe is good, and the dough recipe is good... but I found that the amount of dough needed to be TRIPLED, in order to have enough to cover the filling. So I knocked it down a star because of time lost trying to do the impossible. The second batch with much more dough to work with worked much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
The ingredients should always be uncooked going into the pasty, but other than that it was very good. Carrot can be substituted with rutabaga or turnip, but any of the 3 make a tasty pasty. Does anyone know if you can make these with pork?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
My grandmother is from Upper Michigan and her recipe calls for carrots, potatoes, onions, and rutabaga. We also use ground beef instead of rump roast and put a thin slice of butter inside for added flavor. We also eat ours with ketchup on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I usually use round steak for my pasties, but this time I only had a rump roast to use and found this recipe to try. Seemed dryer than I usually like, but still very good. No carrots for this girl and I used my own pastry. Further, my Mom dotted the filling with butter before closing the pastry to add richness and moisture. I didn't use the milk on top, I just like the natural crust. My pasties are bigger than these as well. The best thing I learned from this offering is to preheat the oven to 450 degrees and cook pasties for 10 minutes, then reduce to 350 degrees, however I found I needed an hour to cook, not the 35 minutes as stated. All in all a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornish Pasty

See how to make a classic meat pie filled with skirt steak, onions, and potatoes.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States