Cornish Pasties III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
These are terrific. Even my 6 & 10 year old loved them - they each ate 2 and they're really large! I substituted some potato for half the rutabaga so they wouldn't taste it - but I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I only wanted to make 6 pasties, so I cut the flour, H20 & shortening in 1/2 (2 cups flour & 1 cup shortening); then to make it low fat, I used 1/2 cup nonfat sour cream & 1/2 cup crisco instead of 1 cup of lard. For more flavor, I added 2 cloves fresh,minced garlic to the dough. This dough is great, very easy to work with! I used potatoes, carrots & onions for the filling, sauteed in chicken broth & added dill & cumin to that. I used leftover beef made in a crockpot & used juice from that to make a gravy for over the top....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I was so excited to make these pasties! The filling tastes just like the pasties at the local cornish pasty shop. I used chicken instead of beef and pork. Also I left out the butter and WISH I HADN'T!! The crust was pretty dry after only 40 min.(I used butter flavor shortening instead of lard) and I think the butter would've helped. I will try this again, though, because the filling is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
my mom and i made these last night with only a few alterations (due, mostly in part, to not having certain ingredients). used crisco instead of lard, potatoes instead of rutabagas, and didn't have any green onions or butter to put on top. they were awesome!! the only thing we'll do differently next time (because we're definitely making them again!) is drain the pork after cooking. the meat was a little greasy. we made them in two batches and much, much smaller than the recipe called for (we made them in those super-size muffin tins). fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
PASTIES ARE "PEASANT FOOD" THIS RECIPE IS EXACTLY PASTIES - BEST W/ BEER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Devon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
excellent!! one of the best recipes for pasties ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I had the oppertunity to visit Michigan's UP this past summer and found this delightful treat too good to resist! We had been purchising premade pasties from the grocery store and they stopped carrying them! So, what does a good cook do? Make and freeze a dozen of these! Delicious! Just as good as the UP's delight and we could add the items that we like and omit the ones that we don't! Like an English Calzone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very good! I did not use the rutabegas because I did not think the kiddos would eat them. But the filling was great and the crust was tender and flaky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I didn't use rutabegas and pork but added white wine, dill, marjoram and sage to the meat mixture. I also made a mushroom gravy to pour over them and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Excellent I left out the Rutabagas and used potatoes, I also added mushrooms and 8 cloves diced fresh garlic, they turned out exceptional....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States