Cornish Pasties III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I only wanted to make 6 pasties, so I cut the flour, H20 & shortening in 1/2 (2 cups flour & 1 cup shortening); then to make it low fat, I used 1/2 cup nonfat sour cream & 1/2 cup crisco instead of 1 cup of lard. For more flavor, I added 2 cloves fresh,minced garlic to the dough. This dough is great, very easy to work with! I used potatoes, carrots & onions for the filling, sauteed in chicken broth & added dill & cumin to that. I used leftover beef made in a crockpot & used juice from that to make a gravy for over the top....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
These are terrific. Even my 6 & 10 year old loved them - they each ate 2 and they're really large! I substituted some potato for half the rutabaga so they wouldn't taste it - but I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Ehh..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Lerandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandera, Texas, USA
Living In: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I was so excited to make these pasties! The filling tastes just like the pasties at the local cornish pasty shop. I used chicken instead of beef and pork. Also I left out the butter and WISH I HADN'T!! The crust was pretty dry after only 40 min.(I used butter flavor shortening instead of lard) and I think the butter would've helped. I will try this again, though, because the filling is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I didn't use rutabegas and pork but added white wine, dill, marjoram and sage to the meat mixture. I also made a mushroom gravy to pour over them and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was incredibly dry! I had to smother it in gravy and the others in ketchup for them to be eatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This may be called a Cornish Pastie but traditional Cornish Pasties are filled only with onions,potatoes and chuck. These days all sorts of additional nonsense is added which distracts from the original taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very good! I did not use the rutabegas because I did not think the kiddos would eat them. But the filling was great and the crust was tender and flaky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
These were very easy and very good. I used potatoes and carrots and added some minced garlic to the meat while it was cooking. We liked eating ours with a jar of gravy. Ketchup was good too. They were just too dry on their own, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I tried and tried, but I just could not get this crust to come together. I ended up having my husband stop at the store on his way home from work for some large size biscuits, rolled them out and filled them with the filling mixture, and topped with a bit of shredded cheddar and butter. Folded them back over, slid into the oven and about 20 minutes later, we had meat pies. Not the original recipe, I know, but I wanted others to know I had trouble with the dough. Filling (minus carrots) was excellent, especially with a bit of garlic powder stirred in. Will make again, but with a different crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States