Cornish Pasties III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
These are terrific. Even my 6 & 10 year old loved them - they each ate 2 and they're really large! I substituted some potato for half the rutabaga so they wouldn't taste it - but I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
my mom and i made these last night with only a few alterations (due, mostly in part, to not having certain ingredients). used crisco instead of lard, potatoes instead of rutabagas, and didn't have any green onions or butter to put on top. they were awesome!! the only thing we'll do differently next time (because we're definitely making them again!) is drain the pork after cooking. the meat was a little greasy. we made them in two batches and much, much smaller than the recipe called for (we made them in those super-size muffin tins). fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I only wanted to make 6 pasties, so I cut the flour, H20 & shortening in 1/2 (2 cups flour & 1 cup shortening); then to make it low fat, I used 1/2 cup nonfat sour cream & 1/2 cup crisco instead of 1 cup of lard. For more flavor, I added 2 cloves fresh,minced garlic to the dough. This dough is great, very easy to work with! I used potatoes, carrots & onions for the filling, sauteed in chicken broth & added dill & cumin to that. I used leftover beef made in a crockpot & used juice from that to make a gravy for over the top....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I was so excited to make these pasties! The filling tastes just like the pasties at the local cornish pasty shop. I used chicken instead of beef and pork. Also I left out the butter and WISH I HADN'T!! The crust was pretty dry after only 40 min.(I used butter flavor shortening instead of lard) and I think the butter would've helped. I will try this again, though, because the filling is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Ehh..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Lerandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandera, Texas, USA
Living In: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I too was excited to make and serve this recipe. My husband is English and we ate pasties while living there. I was worried about the pastry but it tasted great. I am not a baker and it was a pain to roll out the dough but fortunately they looked good after baking. (BTW, I used Crisco instead of lard.) However, the meat and veg was very bland. I used potato, parsnips, carrots and the onions as per the recipe. Never again for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was incredibly dry! I had to smother it in gravy and the others in ketchup for them to be eatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
excellent!! one of the best recipes for pasties ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I had the oppertunity to visit Michigan's UP this past summer and found this delightful treat too good to resist! We had been purchising premade pasties from the grocery store and they stopped carrying them! So, what does a good cook do? Make and freeze a dozen of these! Delicious! Just as good as the UP's delight and we could add the items that we like and omit the ones that we don't! Like an English Calzone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
These were very easy and very good. I used potatoes and carrots and added some minced garlic to the meat while it was cooking. We liked eating ours with a jar of gravy. Ketchup was good too. They were just too dry on their own, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States