Cornish Pasties III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
A Perfect Cornish Pastie just wonderful..I used Strip Steak..onions,Rutabagas..added a tad of Malt Vinegar Yum~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Excellent I left out the Rutabagas and used potatoes, I also added mushrooms and 8 cloves diced fresh garlic, they turned out exceptional....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Manning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I think there's something wrong with the pastry recipe. I did try it, and I had to add a lot of flour and almost no water. It rolled out OK, but the finished product was pretty weird. The filling I changed around some, and it was good. The rating I gave is an average for the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This may be called a Cornish Pastie but traditional Cornish Pasties are filled only with onions,potatoes and chuck. These days all sorts of additional nonsense is added which distracts from the original taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I tried and tried, but I just could not get this crust to come together. I ended up having my husband stop at the store on his way home from work for some large size biscuits, rolled them out and filled them with the filling mixture, and topped with a bit of shredded cheddar and butter. Folded them back over, slid into the oven and about 20 minutes later, we had meat pies. Not the original recipe, I know, but I wanted others to know I had trouble with the dough. Filling (minus carrots) was excellent, especially with a bit of garlic powder stirred in. Will make again, but with a different crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
PASTIES ARE "PEASANT FOOD" THIS RECIPE IS EXACTLY PASTIES - BEST W/ BEER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Devon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I didn't use rutabegas and pork but added white wine, dill, marjoram and sage to the meat mixture. I also made a mushroom gravy to pour over them and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very good! I did not use the rutabegas because I did not think the kiddos would eat them. But the filling was great and the crust was tender and flaky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
These were very easy and very good. I used potatoes and carrots and added some minced garlic to the meat while it was cooking. We liked eating ours with a jar of gravy. Ketchup was good too. They were just too dry on their own, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I had the oppertunity to visit Michigan's UP this past summer and found this delightful treat too good to resist! We had been purchising premade pasties from the grocery store and they stopped carrying them! So, what does a good cook do? Make and freeze a dozen of these! Delicious! Just as good as the UP's delight and we could add the items that we like and omit the ones that we don't! Like an English Calzone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Pasty

See how to make a classic meat pie filled with skirt steak, onions, and potatoes.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States