Cornish Hens with Coffee Liqueur Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
Don't know about the recipe, but I completely adore the guy who submitted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Used Starbucks Coffee liquere which proved to have a mello flavor. The birds were extreamly moist. I did stuff them with seedless grapes in addition to the lemon and orange slices. The fruit had a bit of a chicken flavor so no one ate it. But they loved everything else. Highly Recomended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My advice for cooking time is just to keep basting it every 10 minutes or so after that 2nd half hour, and when they are browned on top, check temperature with a meat thermometer. Get them to 165 Fahrenheit minimum, and you're done. Thank you for your recipe! We did this for Thanksgiving-- fantastic! We thought we almost didn't even need side dishes with such a great tasting main course! Remember to only do a half hen per person if you have plenty of side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Very good everyone liked this dish. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Good flavor and very moist, but the hens were undercooked at the recommended one hour. It's more like one and a half hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I downsized the recipe to one hen for my fiancé and I. Not sure about it's weight, but even though we cooked it in the oven for one hour it wasn't completely cooked; I am going to blame this on my oven which is old and seems to cook unevenly. My half was nicely done while his wasn't; the breasts were a little dry. I omitted the grapes since they were optional anyway. Added extra lemon and orange juices to the glaze/sauce, which was delicious! Maybe next time I will add some clove or nutmeg for increased flavour and depth. Served this with rice (white rice, diced red/green/yellow peppers, onion and garlic powder, chicken stock, water and some of the glaze). This is my first time making and eating a Cornish hen, only downside about the fowl itself is that the small bones (rib area) were a little tedious to pick clean. A keeper though, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I used Kahlua and add a 1/4 cup of apricot preserves to the sauce. Came out great! Thanks to those that suggested baking for 90 minutes rather than 60. Ours came out just right. I think they would have been underdone in just 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This worked out very well. The sauce was easy and a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This review is for the sauce only as I made this with chicken tenderloins cooked in a skillet instead of cornish hens. I used coffee flavored brandy (not sure if it is similar to liquer...) anyway, at first, it smelled strange and I was worried, but I just kept at it and after it is done simmering, I poured it into the skillet where the chicken is almost done cooking. I thickened the sauce with tapioca starch and it turned out very well indeed! I accidentally used 1/2 cup orange juice, so I just topped it up with the brandy till it reached 3/4 cup of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Coffee Nudge

Hot coffee with three types of liqueur warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States