Cornish Hens the Easy Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This turned out REALLY well and very juicy. I cooked it a little longer, and I used about 1/2T of chili powder and 1/2T of cumin per hen. 1/2tsp of each for 3 chickens was not nearly enough for my family. It turned out just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This recipe was the easiest chicken recipe I ever made! I was looking for something quick to prepare but low on ingredients, and this met both requirements. It's wonderfully moist and spicy and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
This was OK, but we prefer other seasoning compared to chili and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was ok. DH wasn't impressed. It did come out juicy and tender, and the skin was crispy and flavorful, however the flavor did not carry into the meat. The cooking time was 45 minutes longer than what was stated, be wary if you are timing sides to be complete at the same time! We were done the baked potatoes 1/2 hr. before the chicken was done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Really good! Made this for my husband and he loved it....only made 2 hens and used the same amount of spices....the skin was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN JOHNSON-SUSKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
The title says it all. EASY EASY EASY!!! My fam enjoyed this and it was super simple to make. Good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Bland recipe. I would use this as a base recipe from which to create a better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was my 1st time making this recipe and it was excellent!! I made it for my parents for valentines day since my husband is deployed in afghanistan. I spent V-day with my parents! It was very tasty and moist!! The only thing I did different was, I put a garlic clove inside the cavity of the hen and added more rosemary in there for extra flavor. I highly recommend this recipe!! It looks so professionally when set upon the plate!! We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele Peterson
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
It certainly was easy! I quite liked it, but my husband found it too bony, he's not keen on bone-in, skin-on chicken recipes. We made it with about half the margarine called for, but otherwise as written. Husband was home that morning so he actually did the work and said the recipe practically made it itself. We had a late afternoon activity and it was nice coming home to a made main-dish and just having to heat up a veg for the side. I always have uses for left-over cooked chicken, so if I plan ahead a little this might be quite good for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
The hens were moist and pretty flavorful. I used lemon juice since I had no lime on hand. I also put garlic in the cavity, however, next time I think I will actually sliver it into the breast of the bird. Hen needs a good hour to cook. Lift the wings to make sure the meat is not pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirdonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States