Cornish Hens the Easy Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this dish. I'm not much of a cook but I can follow instructions pretty good. I can also do a little improvising as I did in this case. Had to cook it a little longer than stated. Left off cumin and used lime juice in place of real lime. I also used the various other seasons I typically cook with like, garlic seasoning and seasoning salt. Instead of olive oil I used melted butter. It was nice and golden. I dove in to quick to take a photo. Um Um good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Awesome! Never made any kind of game bird before and this was terrific. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Family enjoyed these birds. Not very spicy so young and old could enjoy the flavor. Did need to cook for quite a bit longer than stated in recipe, but we do like a drier meat. Just a hint of of lime flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I fixed this for dinner last night. My husband and I enjoyed the dish. There was not a bite left over. The hens were moist and had a nice flavor. This is not a receipt for a person looking for the dish to have a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewel9194

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele Peterson
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
It certainly was easy! I quite liked it, but my husband found it too bony, he's not keen on bone-in, skin-on chicken recipes. We made it with about half the margarine called for, but otherwise as written. Husband was home that morning so he actually did the work and said the recipe practically made it itself. We had a late afternoon activity and it was nice coming home to a made main-dish and just having to heat up a veg for the side. I always have uses for left-over cooked chicken, so if I plan ahead a little this might be quite good for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
We only had one chicken. As suggested by others on here I used 1/2 T chili powder and 1/2 T cumin. (in addition to the salt and pepper) It tasted great! I also put some lime juice and the spices in the cavity. I changed the cooking time. After the first 15 minutes on 450 C. I took the temp. down to 350 C. and baked for 50 minutes. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
very tasty sauce, needed additional cooking time. Also didnt use dripping in pans as sauce was good on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I thought it tasted great. The recipe was very easy, especially since it was my first time cooking cornish hens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Pretty good. could have been a little more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner and was disappointed. The hens were moist but bland and not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States