Cornish Hen Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I bent this recipe a bit to suit my needs and to make a little tastier end product. For a little more flavor, I added more vegetables (little more celery, REALLY BIG onion, some chopped turnip) and more spices (fresh parsley, couple bay leaves, poultry seasoning, fresh ground pepper, little sea salt). I wanted to make this into a rich chicken-ish noodle soup instead of potato soup so I nixed the potatoes, made my own handcut noodles (I used the steps from Great Aunt Nina's Noodles and Chicken recipe, which is also from this site) and cooked them in the broth of the soup after the removing bones step. This turned out a really flavorful soup that was comforting and filling. Cornish hens are almost always inexpensive and turn out some of the best dishes--this soup was no exception. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This was excellent! I was very surprised. It looked like the hen wouldn't supply enough meat for all of the veggies that this receipe calls for. But alas, do not let it fool you. This was perfect. The best homeade chicken/hen soup I've ever had. I did use more than dbl the broth to make it real juicy. Also, used Egg Noodles, and it was WONDERFUL. I spiced it up with salt, pepper, some greek seasonings, and a little bit of garlic powder. Very, very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I used rice instead of potatoes but it was very good. I would definately try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWOFFORD1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
This is a great recipe. I made this the night before a snow trip. Fast and easy! I served egg noodles with the soup. My critics were one hungry husband and 2 boys. Warm fresh bread with butter rounded up this crowd, frozen from too much fun. They finished lunch nice and warm ready for more snowball fights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Perfect! Budget friendly and really tasty! I made this with Vermicelli pasta instead of potatoes. The only thing I added other than that is a bay leaf. I just halved the hen and browned. BEWARE - those little hens take a long time to defrost - 3 days for a little hen! This would be easy to expand with more broth and more vegetables. An ideal cheap winter meal as written. Thanks for a great recipe, Danielle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I also added rice instead of potatoes and some Tony Chachere and boiled eggs it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Perfect comfort food....I made a double batch to share with a neighbor who had a death in the family. She and her husband were so grateful to get a pot of steaming soup and rustic bread to eat before the news travelled and others brought the usual "funeral food" for the family that would gather in. My husband and I LOVED it and I am making more this week to freeze in one portion amounts for him to take to work. Our only changes were to add some of our homegrown fresh herbs (parsley, sage, rosemary....the thyme was already gone for the season :-) ) during the last 10 minutes of cooking. Also, our broth was the expensive kind from the natural foods store, but it lacked salt, so we added what we thought it needed. I think the quality of broth really made the soup rich and tasty and it was worth the expense! The hens were so easy to handle...why hadn't we thought of that! Thanks for a great recipe that we will make over and over, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Such a good soup for a cold night. I wanted to add additional seasoning, but decided to try it as is. The results were very good, with only a bit of S & P added after cooking. Leftovers were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This soup turned out very good. I used frozen onion, celery, and carrots as that is what I had on hand. Be sure not to skip the browning of the chicken step. It adds a lot of flavor to the broth. I left the skins on my pototoes. My husband and boys loved it. I'll probably double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Really good recipe. Easy to prepare, great for those chilly fall nights or that sick somebody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States