Cornish Hen Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
This is a great recipe. I made this the night before a snow trip. Fast and easy! I served egg noodles with the soup. My critics were one hungry husband and 2 boys. Warm fresh bread with butter rounded up this crowd, frozen from too much fun. They finished lunch nice and warm ready for more snowball fights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This was excellent! I was very surprised. It looked like the hen wouldn't supply enough meat for all of the veggies that this receipe calls for. But alas, do not let it fool you. This was perfect. The best homeade chicken/hen soup I've ever had. I did use more than dbl the broth to make it real juicy. Also, used Egg Noodles, and it was WONDERFUL. I spiced it up with salt, pepper, some greek seasonings, and a little bit of garlic powder. Very, very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I used rice instead of potatoes but it was very good. I would definately try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWOFFORD1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This soup turned out very good. I used frozen onion, celery, and carrots as that is what I had on hand. Be sure not to skip the browning of the chicken step. It adds a lot of flavor to the broth. I left the skins on my pototoes. My husband and boys loved it. I'll probably double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Such a good soup for a cold night. I wanted to add additional seasoning, but decided to try it as is. The results were very good, with only a bit of S & P added after cooking. Leftovers were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I made mine without potatoes and added a couple of bay leaves. It's become a weekly meal in our home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hajajah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freetown, Western Area, Sierra Leone
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This soup was very tasty and super easy too. Lots of vegetables. Even the picky 3 year old loved it. Great the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Perfect comfort food....I made a double batch to share with a neighbor who had a death in the family. She and her husband were so grateful to get a pot of steaming soup and rustic bread to eat before the news travelled and others brought the usual "funeral food" for the family that would gather in. My husband and I LOVED it and I am making more this week to freeze in one portion amounts for him to take to work. Our only changes were to add some of our homegrown fresh herbs (parsley, sage, rosemary....the thyme was already gone for the season :-) ) during the last 10 minutes of cooking. Also, our broth was the expensive kind from the natural foods store, but it lacked salt, so we added what we thought it needed. I think the quality of broth really made the soup rich and tasty and it was worth the expense! The hens were so easy to handle...why hadn't we thought of that! Thanks for a great recipe that we will make over and over, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Thank you for such a good and easy recipe!! I had a really bad cold and I promise you this soup cure me right up. I would do it again when some one is sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CubanSpice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Very tasty! Who knew you could get so much meat from one little hen? This made two dinners for my husband and I, for very little money. He's a big fan of chicken noodle soup and thought this was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States