Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I add my own orange sauce to this recipe and they turn out beautiful every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is an awesome recipe that has gotten me high praise each time I've made it. I've altered it just a tiny bit though; I use thinly sliced almonds instead of slivered, season the hens (inside and out) with salt, fresh cracked pepper, and garlic, and add a little garlic to the rice while it's cooking. I also have to cook the rice longer than indicated... usually 45 minutes to an hour. Maybe I'm not cooking it on a high enough heat... in any case, it's a smash hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eutawville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
My husband and I really liked this recipe and it was our first time eating cornish hen. Similar to other users, I also used brown rice and added mushrooms in Step 1. For the hen seasoning, I also used tarragon, black pepper and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
this recipe was very good I mixed cwild rice and couscous for the stuffing we enjoyed it very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Spires

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
The hen was terrific. I used Uncle Ben's wild rice. It came with an herb seasoning so I bypassed the bouillon cube and salt in the recipe. It was terrific. In my opinion having the bouillon cube and salting the hen is too much salt for me. I just put salt on the hen and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Hello? What kind of wild rice did you use anyway? I've been cooking mine for over an hour and it still isn't fluffy. I'm cooking my game hens without the stuffing. Is something missing in the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
There is very little spice in this dish so I was actually worried when making it that it wouldn't have much flavor. I was wrong. Not only tons of flavor but very tender and just so good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe and I followed it exactly. We were both very pleased with the results. Heartily recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I have grilled Cornish Hens many times but this the first time I stuffed them with rice. They turned out to be the best I've ever done. I only changed a couple of things. I used half long grain and half wild rice as I wasn't sure how my kid would like straight wild rice. I also added chopped celery to the rice. This recipe was a big hit and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States