Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
While this recipe tasted good and came out well it nearly ruined Christmas. The time is WAY OFF. I looked at the times and glanced over the recipe before preparing and left myself an extra hour. Good thing I did because it takes according to the recipe an hour and 25 minutes to cook alone...and that is if you like the wild rice VERY bony. Maybe most people used a mixture, not sure, but it said wild rice so I found wild rice and it took over an hour to cook. At any rate, good recipe, everyone enjoyed it, but it actually takes closer to 2 hours to be ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
made for xmas dinner - turned out PERFECT! very tender.only change was that i added mushrooms to the rice stuffing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.hosfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very good! Rubbed a few herbs on the hen, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
We like this. The rating is more based on the fact that the Hens taste like chicken. The rice was good. I added mushrooms, celery, onion, and almonds to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
First time that I had made Cornish Game Hens...they turned out great...didn't cook for another hour after taking off the cover...just 30 minutes...then broiled to get the crispy skin. Also, I used Uncle Ben's 15 minute wild rice as stuffing...and cut in half to serve...will definetly experiment with this recipe more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This turned out great! I'm reviewing it now, but I made it for Valentine's Day. For the Stuffing, I used wild rice, diced almonds, onions, and chicken broth. I cooked it all together and made my stuffing that way. I stuffed the hens and cooked. Turned out great! Easy recipe that looks very elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Very good. Will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I never picked a bird cleaner than I did with this, sooo tasty! I took advice of others and added mushrooms, celery, and about a clove of garlic to the rice. My husband wished there was more rice, next time I'll make extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was my first time cooking cornish game hens and I have to say this recipe was very helpful and turned out delicious. The rice tasted amazing although it did have to cook much longer than 45 minutes to get tender. My hens actually cooked about 30 minutes less than the recipe called for so be sure to keep an eye on them. All in all, this is a great recipe and was very popular with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I had never made cornish game hens before. This recipe was very easy with simple ingredients that I already had on hand. It's lovely as is. I've also added some extra fresh rosemary that I had on hand into the hen cavity and added a little bit to the butter used to baste the skin. My husband loves it everytime I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States