Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This recipe is very easy to follow! I used a store bought Apple Walnut Rice Stuffing to stuff the hens, and added white wine and carmelized onions to baste with! Came out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arogersalr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Delicious. I was a little nervous two of these little hens would feed 4, but it worked out great. I was also concerned about using only 1/3 cup rice (I used long grain white), but that was plenty too. I had more than enough to stuff the birds and put the rest on the bottom of the pan. I added chopped celery and carrots to my stuffing at the same time as onion, because it's just not stuffing without. I used a thermometer to monitor the hens after an hour in the oven. I didn't quite need the whole cooking time for the hens. I did think the rice was a little too flavored and would go 1/2 on the bullion (if any) next time. Served asparagus with cream sauce as a side. Perfect spring dinner. May have to make again for Resurrection Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
In the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, 'Cooking for Two' (1968), the rice listed is long grain rice with a cooking time of 20 - 25 minutes. It also calls for a teaspoon of lemon juice to be added after the bouillon cube, and to baste the birds with the 1/4 cup of butter during the last 15 minutes of roasting time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Could not fine wild rice so I used Uncle Bens. This was a HUGE hit with DH & I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very easy to prepare, and very delicious! I will be saving this recipe for sure -- and this could become our new Thanksgiving tradition. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn McNeal

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
the hens came out great maybe add another 15 minutes for cooking rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe & the stuffing is just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
While this recipe tasted good and came out well it nearly ruined Christmas. The time is WAY OFF. I looked at the times and glanced over the recipe before preparing and left myself an extra hour. Good thing I did because it takes according to the recipe an hour and 25 minutes to cook alone...and that is if you like the wild rice VERY bony. Maybe most people used a mixture, not sure, but it said wild rice so I found wild rice and it took over an hour to cook. At any rate, good recipe, everyone enjoyed it, but it actually takes closer to 2 hours to be ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States