Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This came out great. I used boxed wild rice. Also added baby bella mushrooms to the stuffing. The cooking times have been updated and mine came out a little dry. Overall excellent and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I loved this as a base recipe, but I always tweak a little something. We had a gorgeous jar of chicken stock we'd boiled down last week so I used that in lieu of half the water and bouillon. As it turned out then I had to add water a few times before the rice was close to 'fluffy.' That step was more like an hour than 45 minutes. Seasoned the hens with a a little sagey poultry mix too. Also didn't have a rack so just cozied them up to one another in some Corningware. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Shocked by how easy it is. Attractive and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Very simple and very flavorful! I should have cooked it less as mine was a little dry (I only baked one bird), but overall really great flavor. I sauteed onions first, then deglazed with wine, sauteed the rice, then cooked the rice in chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Great recipe and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Callaway, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This recipe is perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Had cornish hens in place of turkey for Thanksgiving this year, these were very moist and tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
The time required to cook the wild rice is no way accurate, nor is the amount of liquid. I have given up and put my hens in the oven sans stuffing. I used to make cornish game hens with wild rice stuffing years ago, but lost the recipe. I had hoped this would be as good. Poor fool I was. It appears that most of the people who reviewed this did NOT use wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I did not do the game hens, used a whole chicken instead. This was a great substitute for the traditional turkey for our Thanksgiving meal (there's only two of us now) and I used purple sticky rice instead of the wild rice but it still was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States