Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Super easy and super delicious!! I added extra salt, pepper and chopped up rosemary to the sauce before cooking. After cooking I blended the sauce in the blender then reduced it. Amazingly DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is perfect !! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made this exact recipe for over 30 years for Christmas dinner. Even when my six kids were all little, it was fast and elegant. No dishes to pass around the crowded table, and everyone got their favorite part (white meat, dark meat, breast, thigh, leg)and ALL the kids got a wishbone (unlike Thanksgiving, when they fight over it). I always bought 2 more birds than needed since they are inexpensive and fast to prepare, so I was always covered in case we had an unexpected guest. I learned to prepare the rice recipe according to the number of guests, so there is plenty of extra rice (for 2 people, double it; for 6 people, multiply all ingredients x6). Add a vegetable (green bean casserole or candied yams), rolls, 2 candles and a bottle of wine, and it is such a lovely meal that you didn't spend all day cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
One of my favorites, in the oven now. I cheat and use Rice a Roni wild rice mix that I add to the almond and onion sauté. Serve with hot buttered green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added two dashes of cinnamon to the basting melted butter. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is delicious and different from hum drum chicken and rice. Even my husband, who prefers everything fried, likes it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The timing was spot-on for my two Perdue hens. I didn't use the wild rice recipe, however, but rather Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice blend for the stuffing, to which I added chopped onion, celery and carrot (delicious). Brushed with the melted butter and sprinkled with poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This came out great. I used boxed wild rice. Also added baby bella mushrooms to the stuffing. The cooking times have been updated and mine came out a little dry. Overall excellent and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I loved this as a base recipe, but I always tweak a little something. We had a gorgeous jar of chicken stock we'd boiled down last week so I used that in lieu of half the water and bouillon. As it turned out then I had to add water a few times before the rice was close to 'fluffy.' That step was more like an hour than 45 minutes. Seasoned the hens with a a little sagey poultry mix too. Also didn't have a rack so just cozied them up to one another in some Corningware. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States