Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Hello! We have updated the cook time for the rice in this recipe. We hope this helps with some of the problems that have been noted in the reviews. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This was a great recipe. My boyfriend, who had never tried cornish game hen even liked it. I did the following: Added a tbsp. each of mushroom & celery & 1/8 tsp. of garlic (in jar). Also threw in ½ tsp. fresh rosemary leaves in step 1. Added pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, lemon pepper, & poultry seasoning in step 3. Turned heat down to 350 degrees 15 minutes after start. At step 4, I added ½ cup chicken broth (for 2 servings). Served with additional rice (was a kroeger wild rice with seasoning package box), steamed broccoli, & green beans (from can) with butter, salt, & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
In the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, 'Cooking for Two' (1968), the rice listed is long grain rice with a cooking time of 20 - 25 minutes. It also calls for a teaspoon of lemon juice to be added after the bouillon cube, and to baste the birds with the 1/4 cup of butter during the last 15 minutes of roasting time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Delicious! I made a few modifications to the recipe. I used a regular 4 lb. chicken, and added rosemary, oregano, and black pepper to the outside of the bird. I also substituted celery for the almonds in the stuffing (don't care for almonds) and added a clove of minced garlic. The stuffing is good enough to serve as a stand-alone side dish. This made a wonderful meal on a chilly autumn evening, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I found this recipe a couple weeks ago and then my grocer put cornish game hen on sale, so I've tested this recipe twice! This one is a real winner. Easy to prepare, but remember to start this a couple hours before you want to eat. As a great bonus it makes your house smell great. A couple of substitutions that I made were using 1/3 cup of wild rice pilaf instead of just wild rice, this worked out perfectly. I also used 1 cup of low sodium canned chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water which worked well too. Also, I liked adding 2 Tbls of golden raisins to the butter, almonds, and onions for the rice stuffing. It gives it a nice sweet dimension. Also, if you don't have any slivered almonds on hand you can use any others nuts. I just chopped some mixed nuts and used those and it was still yummy! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
The hens turned out pretty good. I added mushrooms, onion, celery to white rice as well as the chicken broth. I also added seasoned rice and chicken with a little poultry season, salt and pepper. I basted the hens with more broth after the first 1/2 hour and each 1/2 hour after. The rice was very tasty and the hens were juicy and flavorful. I saved the leftovers and made rice muchroom soup. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I used this recipe for my 2 year annniversary. As a beginning cook I found this recipe very easy to follow, and very delicious. My husband absolutely loved the cornish hens. The only thing that I changed (for time constraints) was the wild rice. I used the Uncle Bens Microwave Rice to start the cooking on the rice and then I added butter and cooked it on the stove top to get the long grains softer. A tip that I would give anyone that uses this recipe is to make sure the rice is cooked thoroughly before you stuff the hens, and make sure you do leave the skin on while baking; otherwise your hens will get dry. Overall I would say that this recipe was very good. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NotoriousYBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I have grilled Cornish Hens many times but this the first time I stuffed them with rice. They turned out to be the best I've ever done. I only changed a couple of things. I used half long grain and half wild rice as I wasn't sure how my kid would like straight wild rice. I also added chopped celery to the rice. This recipe was a big hit and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This was fabulous. The hens came out really tender and everyone raved about the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I'm not a great cook and even I wowed my guests! Really easy and great for entertaining as it doesn't require alot of babysitting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States